We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a family holiday with two kids aged 4 & 6. Lots of plus points but a few things that stopped me rating this 5/5.

Location
Really good setting, just outside Aviemore centre. Very peaceful and beautiful surroundings.

Accommodation
All the reviews which reference the hotel/rooms needing upgrading are correct. We were in a family suite on the first floor. We accessed this through the back staircase and there was a slight mouldy smell. The carpet was also worn. Our room also needed some basic maintenance eg. one of the latches on the window was missing completely, wood on the top bunk was split, a panel from the wardrobe door had come off and was lying on the floor of the wardrobe. None of this was end of the world stuff though. The big thing that would improve the rooms greatly would be air conditioning. The rooms were just so stuffy during the night even with the windows open. A large fan is provided which is good but you can't keep it on over night.
All that said the rooms are spacious (we had a family suite) and very comfortable. The beds were lovely and the bathrooms lovely too.

Staff
Bit mixed to be honest. Staff at breakfast and dinner were faultless, very warm and friendly. Check-in again was very good, a lovely warm welcome however we did have cause to enquire at reception on a couple of occasions during our visit and didn't receive the same attention. At check-in we were not told anything about evening entertainment and we came across this by chance on our second evening. When we asked asked about times etc for the rest of our holiday we were just told 'if its on it will be in the cairngorm suite, if its not it won't'. A simple way to rectify this is to put up a what's on poster in reception which would help customers plan their evening. Our kids loved the entertainment which ranged from clowns, balloon models, magician, disco etc.

Food/drink
We booked on a dinner, bed & breakfast rate. Breakfast was amazing, so much choice and fantastic value for money.
Dinner....again a bit of a mixed bag. You get two options during busier periods. First is a family buffet served between 5.30 & 6.30. Second is a normal sit down 3 course meal (2 for the kids) from 7pm onwards.
We did the buffet on 3 of our nights and it did become a bit tiresome towards the end. Its also a bit of a free for all. It's an Italian style buffet, so mainly pizza and pasta but its the same pizza and pasta each night. There is also one meat and fish option which changes daily. Selection of cakes and ice cream also, again same each night. Buffet is great for kids, not so much for adults.
The sit down meal was a preferable option, food far nicer, far more choice but with two young kids the timing of service is an issue as if you don't book well in advance you struggle to get the earlier dining times - we tried to book on a second night and could not get a time before 8.30 which is no use with young kids. It really wouldn't take much to improve the buffet by providing a bit more variety.
Drink prices - a real let down and a particular bug bear of the holiday as they are simply extortionate. £5 for a small glass of house wine is a joke, more so is £2 for a very small glass of kids apple juice which was more ice than juice! You do expect this from a hotel chain like Hilton but equally the hotel gears itself to families and most families these days look for good value for money and Hilton lets itself down here in this respect.
Interestingly, if you wander across to the Woodshed bar (part of the complex) drink prices are far more reasonable, however at night if your kids want to see the entertainment you are stuck paying the higher prices in the hotel.

Facilities
Decent swimming pool. Great kids playpark and tennis courts also. It's handy having the fun house nearby and also the activities at the woodshed.

In some ways this is a great family hotel but it lets itself down on some points. I feel this hotel needs to make up its mind what its identity is - are you aiming to families or not? If you are then do this properly. We would definitely go back to Aviemore, possibly to the Hilton but would probably book B&B only.

Room Tip: Would recommend the family suite for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smacx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and will pass on your comments to the relevant departments although i must add that access to the Family Suites which are located within the newer part of the hotel, is via the main staircase just opposite the Leisure Club and is not a back staircase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    1,045
    655
    340
    188
See reviews for
1,450
931
55
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Terrible for a Hilton. No free Internet, which today is like not having a tv in a room. Grotty bathroom and basic things like butter not provided on the breakfast tray (which we paid extra for) . No lifts or disabled access and no air conditioning. Poor all round

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. i was sorry to read of your disappointment with our property but do hope that you will continue to consider Hilton as your accommodation provider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

North East Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked for 2 nights but enjoyed the hotel so much we stayed for a third night. We were on a Dinner B&B deal and were delighted with everything. The buffet breakfast was by far the best we have had in any hotel. Dinner was exceptional with plenty choices and the waiting staff were very efficient and indiscreet. The service was impeccable and the food was served hot and there were no waiting times between courses.
They have an adults only session in the pool between 1700 and 1830 so it was very quiet and relaxing for us older folk!
The only slight downside to our stay was no Wi-Fi in your room which in this day and age is hardly appropriate. However, when you walk through the Hotel Foyer and see 50 people on Laptops and I-Pads with not much conversations going on it's maybe a blessing.
It was our first time here but we will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 214. A little small but immaculate and very modern with everything you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geddeslubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and hope that we are able to welcome you back to stay with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had an excellent 2 night stay at this lovely hotel, the public areas and rooms are in need of upgrading but the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the food is out of this world. If you see a good deal for dinner bed and breakfast take it you won't find better in Aviemore for your evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank kmbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

have stayed here many times and love the hotel. took 4 days this year for myself my wife and daughter, food is very good. service is also very good. what bugs me about this visit more than others. 1st. Wi-Fi is free in the foyer no problem except there are 40 to 50 other people also using free Wi-Fi so slow to non existent. you can have Wi-Fi in your room. HA HA for a whopping£17 per day. buy a bottle of Strathmore still water in plastic bottle. boom another £3. now I know hotels are trying to sell every little extra they can. but these prices are stupid. I run a bed and breakfast and Wi-Fi is free everywhere in the house. dam maybe I should charge £17 per day and coin it in. good hotel good facilities will most likely stay again but dam sure I will take my own case of water and leave ipad at home

Room Tip: don't chose top floor. no lifts here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbobby28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge, as you say both WiFi and bottles of water in rooms are chargeable but this is at the discretion of the guest whether they choose to purchase this or not. Our WiFi has recently been upgraded so provides a good free service within the foyer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

As ever the Hilton Coylumbridge provided a wonderful break. The food was very good, the public areas spacious. The Woodshed bar a retreat fro the busier foyer lounge. The pool so convenient, staff so friendly. Great location near so many activities and beauty spots.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank JanetAnnWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and do hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

brilliant stay of only one night, boo, had lovely time and special night.taxi into aviemore on arrival in afternoon no problem for wee walk around. booked the dinner,(£16 allowance each) bed and breakfast. Meal was fantastic had steak and peter had mixed grill, all was amazing, staff were fantastic really friendly, attentive and helpful. breakfast was lovely with loads of choice, and all food wonderful and really tasty.
what made our night was being invited to stay for 60th birthday party, was fantastic. met some lovely people including janette, who was fantastic, made our night having travelled from funeral in morning up north really cheered us up. pool was wonderful next day and room 004 great for booking at 1am on same day.

Room Tip: stayed in front room on ground floor to left of entrance, lovely and quiet although hotel was busy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy-peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCoylumbridge, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and will pass these on to all of our staff. We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing