We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
dingwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great party”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

we were staying at the hotel for my fathers 80 birthday the staff in the hotel were excellent from booking in the were very helpful with a choice of down stair rooms for older guests the porter was very helpful with everything we needed the restuant staff were friendly helpful nothing was too much bother we will come back and stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catDingwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay and celebration at Hilton Coylumbridge and was pleased to read that you had a great stay and look forward to welcomng you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    1,045
    655
    340
    188
See reviews for
1,450
931
55
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We love our Hill walking and when in the area the hotel is a great way of making our walking brake a bit special. This time round the room we stayed in was not up to the usual standard and Saturday night dinner and Sunday breakfast in the hotel was awash with tiny children, the biggest problem for me was when a 3/4 year old little girl came in accompanied by an adult in to the sauna!! also the jacuzzi was a wash with tiny tots, the swimming pool attendant was absent throughout, I thought children had there own pool!! Sadly this hotel is becoming a stack-em high and sell it cheap young family hotel and we don't fit in anymore.
The food was really good and imaginative.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaJosePonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and was sorry to read that you did not completely enjoy your time with us. During weekends and of course school holidays we are always very busy with families and children as we are a family friendly resort. We do also have an adult only swim time which is 5pm to 6.30pm to allow those guests travelling without children to have a more relaxing swim. Outwith these periods we do tend to be quieter and would hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel and is suitable for families but not overrun with children. Great food in the restaurant plus a nice pool, sauna and gym. This hotel is an ideal base for a short skiing break, it has ski hire onsite and the bus up to the base station of the lifts runs hourly and stops outside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just spent a great week-end at the Hilton. Very enjoyable. Room very good, very clean and nice and warm as it was snowing outside! Restaurant food is lovely, and the breakfast is amazing. Staff were all very pleasant. No complaints at all, so thank you all at the Hilton for a lovely week-end! It's only a pity we can't ski!! Loved the trip on the fenicular also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfortlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your great comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. We have had snow for the last 2 days so the hotel and grounds are looking very pretty. Our on site ski hire also does lessons in both skiing and snowboarding so if you get the opportunity to visit us again before the winter is out, you should give it a go. We do hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Was here for a one night stay to celebrate my birthday with my partner, and Hilton were doing a stonking DBB deal for £146. The hotel is really the heart of a large holiday park, with lots of stuff for families - which if like me you are used to the more traditional idea of a Hilton being a polished and plush business hotel in a major city, then it will come as a shock. There are holiday chalets, amusement arcades, a diner and bar located in a separate building that caters more for children and young adults, play parks, tennis courts...you name it!

As a Silver HHonors member, I got the little letter of thanks and the obligatory two bottles of mineral water (some Hiltons I've stayed in have "forgotten" to....), they also upgraded us to a family room which has a small bedroom with two bunk beds attached to the side. A little extravagant maybe, I'd would rather have had four bottles of free mineral water and give the family room to someone who needed it..... we all love upgrades, but please, upgrade me to something I will actually use!!

Tried out the pool and sauna facilities - there are two pools, a kids pool 1m deep, and an adult pool 1.8m deep with a hot tub. Both were very warm, although there is only a sauna, no steam room which was a bit of a disappointment. They do have an "adults only" period between 5pm and 6.30pm if you want peace from the children sploshing around......

Ate in the main Inverdruie restaurant, which was the highlight of the trip - food was stunning and of a very high standard - well worth the effort, even if nearly all the grill options (and for some bizarre reason, the cheeseboard), attracted supplements for people on a DBB rate. And the breakfast, well - I've never had a bad fry-up in a Hilton hotel and this one was no exception - all ingredients were prepared to a high standard.

Drinks prices were on the pricey side of reasonable - I was charged over £8 for a glass of "house wine" - not realising that it just happened to be the most expensive one on the menu (which I didn't bother to look at - so technically it was my fault), but a pint of lager was £3.60 - not as exorbitant as some Hilton hotels I've stayed in, but just about tolerable. WiFi in the lounge and lobby area is free, although not cheap if you want it in your room (I can tell you the hotel's remote-ish location means the data signal on O2 is non-existent), although free also if you are lucky enough to be on the Gold or Diamond tier on Hilton HHonors.....

If anything lets it down it is the building itself, which is looking shabby in places, both inside and out. It isn't dirty or unkempt by any means, just a bit well....rustic. Can't complain about the staff though, everyone we spoke to were pleasant, smiled and gave good service. My overall opinion is that the hotel is great for families, and it is definately oriented that way as a "vacation" hotel, but for a quiet romantic getaway type hotel for two - you may find it a wee bit too noisy for your liking, but that is an observation rather than a criticism. It wouldn't stop me from coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your very constructive comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. It is not clear what dates you stayed with us and would say that if over a weekend we do tend to be busy with families, and of course throughout all of the school holiday periods. During the week (Mon - Thur) we do have quieter times which may well suit couples better, if guests are looking for a "quiter" period please do not hesitate to give us a call and we will advise where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location, value for money was excellent, the staff were very helpful and polite, they could not do enough for us. The food was great and excellent value, the breakfast was first class. I booked the rooms for an other three people and they could not believe the price and were all very impressed with the place and the price. Also great place if you have kids, lots to do and very child friendly. Around I would give this place 5/5 excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_kenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive comments on your recent stay with us. Its good to hear that you and your party had a great stay and we hope that we shall see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

As a couple reading these reviews before we came we were quite worried however we couldn't have been more wrong to worry. On arrival we were advised that we had been moved to a family room instead of the double we booked. We were offered the porter service as the hotel has no lifts but seeing as you have a max of two flights of stairs to go up we declined. No lift was not a problem....it's not a 10 storey building! The room had two double beds, was very spacious ad modern. the bathroom average size for a hotel room and i was so happy it had a bath. the room and the bathroom were spotless. i had a pregnancy massage booked at the thai lodge on arrival and it was amazing. David and Wray are so friendly and instantly make you feel at ease. I wish I lived closer as they're massages are the best. We used the pool every day our stay only at times when it was adults only. The pool area was sufficient, the changing rooms were clean but could do with modernising. We had dinner included in our stay on all nights we tried different dishes every night and not one could be faulted. The food was very tasty, came quickly and the choices were varied. The entertainment in the main reception was excellent too. We had a room just beside the main reception, we were worried we would be disturbed by it however we didn't hear a thing. The breakfast was excellent....a great selection and you can take your time, helping yourself to as much or as little as you want. All staff from reception, bar staff, restaurant, porters and cleaners were very friendly. One thing I would say is if you want to be able to open your window, ask at reception, as you have to sign a document (a disclaimer) before they unlock them which I can understand as they open right out so can be dangerous if like some guests I'm sure they get are stupid enough to hang out and fall out of them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saw2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge and will certainly pass them on to David and Wray and also the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing