We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girly weekend. My friend and I and our daughters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Having booked this weekend away last year we were really looking forward to a superb weekend.

We were told there were childrens activities and entertainment. Well we couldnt find any. Most of the children seemed to amuse themselves by running around the foyer while the parents sat on the comfy sofas and drank!

The fun house which was a short walk from the hotel was good for the kids. We spent a good few hours in there. They have a beautician there who was excellent. We treated ourselves to an amazing facial and the girls had thier nails done!! Very reasonably priced it was too!!

The room we had was two double beds in a rather small and tired looking room. It was also very cold. When we contacted reception we were given a fan heater which we had to leave on all night. Our lovely view was the side of the pool! If we craned our heads to the right we did get a view of the fairy lights at the front of the hotel.

The most enjoyable part of the weekend was the meal times. The food in the restaurant was superb. In my opinion it was first class. The breakfasts were amazing as was the evening menu.

Last but not least - the staff! I couldnt fault them at all. From the waiter and waitresses to the reception they were excellent.

I would return here but not when kids are on holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,025 - 3,031 of 3,149 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights with our 14 week old daughter. The reception/foyer area were lovely and nice to sit at in the afternoon and relax.

Our room was on the ground floor which was easy access with the pram however we had a family room and it was very cramped. There were 2 double beds and we had a travel cot. The hotel web site would only allow us to book a family room even though we did not need the 2nd bed. We had to re-arrange the room and when we moved the bed it was evident that under the beds had not been cleaned for a good while.

The bathroom was nice and very clean. Our only complaint was that there was no extractor fan and in the morning the room became very damp.

The dining room was ok, the staff were very friendly and helpfull. Also it was very child friendly. The breakfasts were great lots of choice and eggs were cooked to order. Evening meals were ok nothing to complain about.

Overall a great base to explore the area, very child friendly but rooms a big let down would expect more from this standard of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LSF169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Stayed with our 18 month daughter and my wife's parents, and whilst we were on the ground floor in the new hotel block, they were on the first floor in the old bit (with no lift). Not much difference other than nice new wood facings , skirtings and doors in the new bit.
We had a family room compared to their twin room, both were the same size but ours had two double beds and a cot so felt very cramped in comparison.
The entrance foyer, Caffe Cino / seating and bar area is absolutely superb, and a popular place to meet, eat, drink, chill out or just people watch. Always plenty of comfy leather sofas available.
Restaurant was nice, big and breakfast had loads of choice. The evening meals didn't have so much choice and the A La Carte option didn't add much more options.
The food was okay, not outstanding. There is a seperate dining room with additional costs but the menu did not appear much different to the main restaurant so didn't seem worth it.
Service was superb, mainly foreign staff but no complaints.
Fun House was good for older kids - ie over 2 or 3 yrs, but our daughter still loved the small under 2 bit.
It was a bit wet and cold for the outdoor activities but there seemed to be a lot and in fairly good nick.
I'd stay there again no question, and we were recommended to it by friends who have already returned.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondDon1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

We stayed in one of the chalets as part of a timeshare exchange. We had a two bedroom unit near a stream, very nice serene atmosphere. The chalets were built in the 1960's but the interiors have been upgraded with "Ikea" like furniture and fixtures. We were charged for our electricity use which came to around $67 US for three days. The unit had a full kitchen, 3 bathrooms and a washer/dryer. The chalet was a good walk from the hotel and restaurant portion of the property but it was so nice to walk through the silent falling snow. Since our dollar is so weak, everything seemed very expensive. We paid $30 US for a hamburger! In town, food prices were much better so we tried to eat in town or purchase from the local store there.

This resort definitely caters to young families. Though I traveled with my 12 year old son, it caters to those younger than this. My only complaint is not that of Hilton's but rather that of the guests. The adults would sit and drink and their children ran around the lobby and sitting area, throwing balls, yelling, etc. There is a special large arena for kids with TONS of games and activities for children but they must not have a bar in there so the adults came for their break and completely neglected their children who misbehaved and completely ruined it for us who wanted a nice conversation and a glass of wine. There are often live musicians and I felt horrible for them as they are trying to sing over obnoxious children. This was at 10 o'clock at night!

I don't think I would stay here again mostly for the reason above. I think the Hilton staff should perhaps suggest to parents that children must be watched and perhaps slightly controlled in public 'adult' areas.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank myeyegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

Very busy. Large hotel. We stayed for a long weekend. Bright ,
modern reception and nice room.Needed a wee dust though.
Food was excellent, plentiful and nicely presented. All staff were very pleasant. Bar prices were pretty good as well. Wine by the glass a bit expensive but spirits average pub prices.
Very busy especially with young families so expect a lot of under 5's if you go.
Excellent facilities. Set in it's own grounds.
Good value.
We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank borak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at Coylumbridge. We had a pleasant stay and couldn't really fault it. All the staff were friendly and efficient.

My only moan would be our room. It was described as a 'double deluxe'. Not sure what was deluxe about it! It was nicely decorated but very small with the bed taking up most of the room. I think there are 2 wings to the hotel and we got the older one! As we were only staying a night it wasn't a problem.

The hotel is definitely geared towards families with loads of activities on offer. The swimming pool is a good size but if you want a decent swim make sure you avoid children's playtime! Changing rooms were a bit grotty for my liking.

Breakfast was self service and ran efficiently.

Overall, a good place for a break. But if you're going to 'escape' from the children , maybe best to choose another hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choochter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

Over the last 14 or so years my family and I have stayed at this hotel or its lodges about 20 times. The vast majority of the stays have been excellent but there have been a couple of times when problems such as understaffing in the dining room has left a three hour wait for dinner or the sauna seating being so rotten it has litterally collapsed under people .As a rule the entertainment is very good as is their leisure facilities .The meals are normally of the highest standard though if you fancy something special off the menu it doesn't come cheap.The Woodshed bar is a nice quiet place to unwind and there is also the bar in the main hotel which usually has a happy two hours around 5-7 pm.The rooms are spacious and clean and quite often we get a family suite which has two bedrooms which is great for our two young boys to watch their programmes or play with their toys. The location is very good being a pleasant mile and a half walk from Aviemore and also being on the road to Loch Morlich/Cairngorm with its selection of water and winter sports. All in all a very good hotel and I have no doubt we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skiboy_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Address: | Coylumbridge, Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: $107 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing