We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,391)
Filter reviews
3,391 results
Traveler rating
826
1,177
751
407
230
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
1,177
751
407
230
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodshed barfun housefamily suiteinverdruie restauranttoddler breakmain restauranttwo double bedscrazy golfswimming pooltennis courtskids clubgreat for kidsbreakfast and dinnerschool holidayssoft playoutdoor activitiespublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
2,754 - 2,759 of 3,391 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

As it was the school holidays and this is a family type hotel I knew in advance it would be full of children. And it was but it didnt really bother us, we never heard any extra noise etc.

Good breakfast, buffet style, although most items were stone cold. On our 2nd morning I got an omelette freshly made which was much better. After about 0830 big queues build up so best get in early.

Had a meal one evening which was really good. Bad news is that wine (and all drinks) are a real rip off.

Overall good break and might return, but not in school holidays.

BEWARE they allow dogs so have to mark them down for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-TaxTax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was the first visit we had made to this hotel. To our surprise the volume of children astounded us and therefore found the stay very noisy with children running around the hotel public arteas and corridors.

For those with children, great location with many walks, outdorr activities and on site fun park for the children e.g. climbing wals, ski slope etc.

A definate family hotel and not for those seeking peace and traquility. Not sure how disabled person friendly either.

Room Tip: Book a private dining for diner unless you want to be with lots of children. Time in pool for adults only but that may not suit your plans!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having stayed here with children in the days of the Stakis empire, it was disappointing to come back and see the corporatisation of this hotel, which I am sure ticks all the boxes, but lacks warmth and welcome. Fortunately we are fit septuagenerians, but as with other older guests, we found our rooms were up two flights of stairs, the second very narrow with a door which opened on to the upper steps. There is no lift, and there was only a desultory offer to carry up our luggage at a later date. The reception staff certainly tried their best, but were from overseas, and there did not appear to be any manager in immediate attendance.
We had made the mistake of not booking dinner, and were informed there was no possibility of eating before 9pm, and although there was a "Bistro," it had a very limited menu. Unsurprisingly, priority at all times appeared to be given to the many coach parties, most of which appear to be from overseas.There are many hotels in the Aviemore area, but despite it's prime location and facilities, I would not recommend it for those without children.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayfarerMilngavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have been visiting the Coylumbridge Hotel and the Lodges within the grounds for over 30yrs, we have had wonderful family holidays there, and now our children have grown up we still want to visit..
Have stayed at the hotel through all the changes ie Stakis/Hilton and still enjoy our yearly visit to the lovely Coylumbridge.
Firstly I have to mention the wonderful scenery, all around the hotel, walks down to the river with its clear flowing water, which is just beside the lodges within the hotel grounds. Aviemore certainly has gone through a change for the better, there is the Funicular Railway taking you to the top of the Caringorm Ski Centre, you now have a proper cycle path going from the hotel to the Loch Morlich Water Centre where you can hire Canoe's(with a lovely wee beach) try the nice shops, especially in the Aviemore Centre and around the village.
We have stayed in the Lodges at the hotel on quite a few occasions with our family and dogs, lovely clean & comfortable very spacious and well worth a stay there too.
The last visit to Aviemore just recently, we did not stay at Coylumbridge, although had dinner in the newly refurbished dining room ( used to be the Grant Room) - it is fabulous, our meal was first class, service first class and the decor is gorgeous..so give this gem in the highlands a wee visit.
We have so many very happy memories of this lovely hotel and of Aviemore, still visiting after all this time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bax104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a return visit after many years. Initial impressions were not favourable as reception seemed to be on a go slow but I later discovered two of the staff had recently arrived from Hungary and were not quite up to speed with the systems. From then on things went well over our three day stay apart from the regimentation in the dinang room when it was essantial to book and only a limited number were taken at a time- probably so that staff numbers could be kept down. The food was of high quality and the service satisfactory. Entertainment which was provided in the lounge on two of the evenings was pleasant and unobstrusive. Wine prices were high with a very substantial mark up on most varieties. Although we did not have children in our party the facilities for children are excellent.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was very good
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerryattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews