We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was disgusting, and hotel was generally in very poor condition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was disgusting, and hotel was generally in very poor condition”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

The food was absoulely disgracefull, it is the first time in a restraunt where I have only eat two mouthfuls of my dinner. The dinner I ordered was sirlon steak, chips with diane sauce. Firstly I asked for the steak medium to rare and it came out medium to well and extremly tough, The chips were the most disgusting chips I have ever tasted and this is not an exaggeration, it was like they had been fried in year old oil, I could still taste the horrible taste in my mouth an hour later and I only had two chips. The diane sauce was equally as bad it was watery like gravey consistency with mushrooms chopped into it and this was an extra £2.50 into the bargin. Overall it was absolutely disgracefully, I wouldn't have expected the quality of food in a cheap resturant never mind in a hilton resturant. The rooms where also pretty tired looking and in need of a good make over. The shower was like a dribble and took ages to even get the shampoo washed out of my hair. I have stayed in many hilton hotels over the years but of late my last two visits have been really poor and I feel some Hiltons are in disperate need of a revamp. I have never minded paying for Hiltons as I always felt they offered good value for money but of late I just feel they are very much over priced for what you get and in future would prefer to look around for alternative hotels

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Br H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for your comments. i am sorry that your food was not up to our usual high standards. You do not say if you returned your dish or if you advised us at the time, our staff would have been more than happy to replace any item of your meal that you were unhappy with. With regards to your room, I am sorry that you did not find it to your liking but do hope that you will continue to use Hilton as your preferred accommodation provider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    995
    601
    322
    176
See reviews for
1,362
875
53
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is excellent for kids and I came here a lot when I was a kid. I was sadly disappointed by the food though. The restaurant used to serve excellent food but has gone downhill dramatically. I had to send my food back as it was unedible. There are many great places to eat out in aviemore though. Especially the Mountain Cafe.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jockmacstrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience but can assure you that your comments have been passed to our F&B team for their attention and is certainly an area that will be looked at in depth during the current remodelling and planning of our Grant Room Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemnay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here a few times now and it seems to get better each time. The hotel is set up great for families with different activities for all ages. The staff are all friendly and helpful. This hotel suits families, but also couples as it is a great base for sight seeing as well. It has a happy atmosphere and the bar area is a great place to get to know other guests. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone. I can't wait until we're back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Room with 2 double beds which kids loved but found decor tired and bathroom grubby and basic. Leisure pool has 2 pools, one with a deep end and 2nd 1m depth for younger kids. Lounge and bar areas relaxing but bar prices shocking, £7.00 upwards for a glass of wine !! Decent Live entertaintment both evenings. Grant Restaurant under refurb so eating in main function room which lacks atmosphere but sure it will be ok when restaurant reopens. Food was just ok but kids did enjoy their buffet choices however found the service is very rushed and impersonal, probably as mainly all Europeans with very basic English. No chance of wine with meal at £25 for cheapest bottle! Went to Landmark Adventure park which still offers a great family day out......water slides, high rope tree trekking and smaller version for younger kids, small rollercoaster, free fall jump, climbing wall, play areas, maze, Forrest walks and much more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

My only adverse comment was that the price of drinks were exceptionally high but service and staff generakky were good and particularly friendly towards my young grandchildren. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenBraveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We needed a hotel to serve as a base to visit the Aviemore area, and the hilton seemed to be an obvious choice. However, it was utterly disappointing. It is a mega complex which seems to be geared towards families and medium to large groups... definitely not recommended for couples. Staff are very impersonal, maybe due to the sheer size of the complex. Rooms are OK although bathroom had no window or extractor fan. Cleanliness was average. Drinks and food quite on the expensive side. For food lovers, this place is a nightmare. We had the dinners pre-paid, but we ended up having to go out and eat elsewhere... F+B needs some serious re-shaping. They wanted us to give them a time for dinner while I was still walking in with my luggage!! They told us the menu is always the same except for the 'special' of the day. The food looks like a factory style canteen. Sorbets were painted with the worst artificial colours I ever encountered. There is a hot drinks bar, but they cannot produce a decent cappuccino or macchiato... I can go on. On the bright side, there are some nice sports facilities - such as tennis courts and an indoor pool. I have learnt to be careful when analyzing hotel websites, as they can be very misleading, but I was a disappointed by hilton on this one. By the way, there is no elevator in this hotel - so I am not sure it is suitable for physically impaired guests. Overall, I think that it is not worth spending the money to stay at a place like this if you are just using it as a base for the evenings and night.

Room Tip: try to get rooms overlooking the back and not the front carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rambumica1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCath, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Coylumbridge. We are a family resort but outwith the school holidays we are usually quieter and do have a lot of couples staying with us. We do ask guests to book a dinner slot upon arrival so that preferred times are available and the guest is not disappointed when there is only a very early of late slot available. Concerning the lack of a lift as 70% of our rooms are on the ground or first floors it has not something that would be considered and we do have a number of accessible rooms available all on the ground floor. Our Grant Room restaurant is currently closed for a major refurbishment and is due to reopen in November and your comments on the F&B operation will be passed to the F&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
166 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed in one of the older units, thus some wear & tear prevalent but very spacious and accommodating for our family of four! Great base to explore Scottish highlands.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing