We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay - nothing more, nothing less.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Okay - nothing more, nothing less.”
Reviewed October 29, 2007

Stayed here for two nights in October with my wife and son. It was half term so the hotel was pretty full, mainly with families.

Rooms were average. Clean and fresh enough although we had to ask to be moved from an old smoking room to a non smoking room and, to be fair to the hotel, they accommodated us. Had a meal in the Bistro on the first night which was good. Ate in the Grant room the next night and it was pretty good too. Breakfast was excellent with a large variety. The hotel is in a great location just outside Aviemore and is a great base for all the activities in the surrounding areas.

On the negative side the pool was pretty small and closed to children both days between 5pm and 6.30pm. Now after a day's activity it would have been nice for the three of us to go for a swim but this closure made it impractical if we wanted to eat at a decent time. The games room didn't have a huge selection of games and a few of those that were there didn't work. The Funhouse also closed at 5pm which again wasn't much use. For a family hotel there was very little evening entertainment which I found very surprising.

The area itself was great. Fantastic scenery and loads for families to do from the Funicular railway, the Landmark woodland theme park, the Highland Wildlife centre to quad biking, canoeing and grass sledging.

I would undoubtedly return to the area but couldn't see me going back to this particular hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of evening activities
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkirkyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    1,011
    607
    328
    180
See reviews for
1,379
897
53
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

This was part of a highly anticipated half-term break in Scotland. The scenery was outstanding and the weather was kind. Unfortunately our experience of this hotel was not in the same league. After a fairly lengthy wait to check in we found that our room was cold and the corridors smelled rather like a hospital. Our children's enjoyment of the pool was curtailed by "adults only" time and they were then unable to have fun in the Funhouse as it closed at 5 pm! Our meal in the restaurant was dreadful. The children's buffet food was barely warm and the adult meals were very disappointing. The only saving grace was breakfast the next morning which was very good. All in all this was a child-friendly hotel which failed to live up to our expectations in so many areas. We will not return.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Evening meal
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorcesterwomanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

Excellent location, amazing scerery around this area. Loads to see and do. Pool had a child free time which was great! Chalet lodges very comfortable and recently upgraded to a very high standard.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank CB_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

My husband and teenage sone took me to Colymbridge Hotel to celebrate my Birthday, and not through any fault of theirs it was a disappointment.

Room was okay - two seperate rooms (mini suite) which overlooked a roof and cooling fans, which started at 6.30am in the morning - rude awakening! Spoke to reception staff - but no chance of a move! It was such a shame when all around is such beautiful countryside and the hotel was not even full.

No lift would be a huge problem if you were travelling with small children and all their paraphernalia.

Charged £25 for dog to stay in room for one night - total rip-off!!!

Meal in hotel at night was only average, but breakfast was great, plenty of choice and loads of food, quick service even though is was busy.

Swimming pool area could do with a serious make over, and tried to book treatments in beauty room but shuts early on Saturday!

Arrangments for having a drink the bar is bewildering, a 15 year old teenager is treated in the same way as a toddler?

Overall - I always wanted to stay in the Coylumbridge hotel - have done it once and never again.

  • Liked — Two room suite idea
  • Disliked — Views and noise from cooling fans
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FergusMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We stayed here at the end of September for a friend's wedding and loved the whole experience. Check-in itself was pretty painless and within a few minutes we were able to join everybody else at the bar. The room itself was fine. Not the biggest and not the best workmanship on the finishings but it was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. We had dinner in the hotel on the Friday night which I have to say wasn't worth what we paid for it although the breakfast was superb (especially the haggis!). The bar staff were incredibly slow but they were always nice enough. The Woodshed Bar on the hotel grounds is a great place to spend an afternoon and the facilities for kids are incredible although the windows of the swimming pool could do with some blinds as it's right next to the main bar area.

For a wedding the setting of the hotel is beautiful, we didn't explore too much but what we saw was lovely. The suite where the wedding was held was perfect.

All in all a good experience, albeit an expensive one.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting
  • Disliked — Slow bar staff and expensive drink
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Although there were aspects of this hotel that were certainly not up to Hilton standards overall our experience was good. We stayed for four nights - originally our plan was to stay for two (on a dinner, bed and breakfast package for 95 pounds per night), however the hotel offered us a great rate to extend our stay - 80 pounds for dinner, bed and breakfast for two which convinced us to stay for an extra two nights.

Although the hotel was old (there was no lift to get to our second floor room and only very narrow staircases up which we had to drag our big bags), our room was freshly renovated and really nice.

The breakfast buffet was great with lots of variety. The set menu for dinner was adequate (not the most imaginative and mostly pre-prepared) but for the price it was very good.

This is certainly a family friendly hotel and all the kiddies there seemed to be enjoying themselves a great deal (and the parents all looked relaxed)!

Another good point is the location. There are loads of great walks, good fishing and Aviemore is well located for getting to other spots around the highlands.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DenJenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west lothian
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Slightly more holiday camp than Hilton but still a fantastic family holiday and we didn't want to leave. We booked an executive family suite for ourselves and 2 kids and expected exceptional accommodation. What we got was an average sized hotel room with adjoining bunk room for the kids. The bathroom was lovely but had no window/air conditioning/extractor and the whole suite was very stuffy and worse after showers or baths. Plenty storage space but the Playstation the hotel boasted of was at an additional cost and the games were pre selected. Take your own and plug it into the tv and the kids will be much happier!

The onsite amenities are fantastic for the kids! Our 2 were spoilt for choice and never stopped all day long but beware that most of the activities are at another additional cost but if the kids are kept busy then we're happy! Highlight of the day was taking the kids for their high tea and then they went away for 2 hours to do supervised kids club activities (ages 5-12 only) and we had dinner alone in the restaurant! Time off which was worth every penny!

The staff onsite are the most polite, friendly and helpful I've ever encountered and made our stay the best holiday in our own country we've ever had.

Outwith the hotel complex there is plenty to see and do in the summer. I'd definitely recommend the grass sledging found on the Cairngorm Mountain road, Loch Morlich beach activities, Glenmore Reindeer Centre and Landmark Forest Theme Park as some of the best within 5 miles of the hotel and all accessible by bus and great value for money!

Overall...a fun filled, activity packed, happy holiday in fantastic and friendly but very expensive accommodation. Will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Kids activities, fantastic food
  • Disliked — Dogs allowed in hotel rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jegojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
7.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel

Property: Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Address: Aviemore PH22 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Coylumbridge resort hotel is set in a 65 acre woodland estate in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. It is located close to Aviemore and is a perfect holiday destination all year round. The resort includes five restaurants and two bars including the Woodshed Bar with its roaring log fire and the American Diner sure to please the kids. The resort also includes indoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, play park, spa, outdoor activity park and The Fun House for the little ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Coylumbridge - Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Hilton International Aviemore
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hotel
Hilton Aviemore
Aviemore Hilton
Aviemore Coylumbridge Hilton Hotel
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing