We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, pleasant service”

Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 60 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,228 reviews
802 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant service”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I ate here because the selection in Aviemore in nothing special. They are very nice and try hard to please. The restaurant is clean and service was OK. We had the Angus topside was good with nice vegetables, I had the special which came with a salad and dessert. It was a casserole of 3 game birds and I did find 2 pellets from when one of the birds was shot down(LOL). No teeth broken and nothing swallowed so all was well. I think there breakfast would be very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    42
    30
    24
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scottish delight”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Wr ordered the sharing platter for two. It was delicious and more than enough food for my boyfriend and myself filled with gems like haggis spring rolls, smoked salmon, oat cakes and Scottish meats and cheeses!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leannesophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great meal”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great pub grub service was excellent ! try the special burgers ! Two burgers of choice with 4 pints £20 great value !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cullabay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, service not so good.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food was good and really nice priced. But we ordered two different dishes and got two of the same sort, took some minutes before we even got an excuse. To add on to this the other waiter were really not that interested it seemed that it was a problem that we had chosen to eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lelleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent pub, poor food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Had the soup and a sandwich deal, great value at £6 but the soup was tasteless, the mayonnaise in the coleslaw tasted off and the sandwiches were average. Seemed to be a good pub for a drink however

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveyG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Mackenzies Highland Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing