We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always an Aviemore winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Active Cafaidh

Active Cafaidh
Ranked #29 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish, International, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: Active Cafaidh (Gaelic for Cafe) is the unique place in Aviemore to meet, eat & relax. Experience a friendly relaxed atmosphere and outstanding mountain views. Our food is all freshly prepared using the finest quality Scottish produce. Menu options include delicious savoury crepes, venison burgers, daring omelettes and hearty mountain platters with fresh soups prepared daily and superb coffee & home baking. We always have selections for people with special diets. Take time to browse our bookshop and Scottish music collection. The cafaidh has free Wi-Fi and 2 public access computers. We are available for private functions and are fully licensed offering a range of drinks including local beers, whisky cocktails & wines.Relax and enjoy the Active Cafaidh experience!
scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always an Aviemore winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming here for a good few years now and the food and service is first class! The breakfasts are EXCELLENT and they even do a free bowl of porridge if you buy another breakkie from the menu. The food is fresh and delicious. There are other eateries in Aviemore but this place serves up the best coffee and food we come back every time.

It's also kid friendly as we have a 5 month old baby :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotbokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Active A, at Active Cafaidh, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Active Cafaidh. It is always our aim to give all of our customers the same experience ,

Kind Regards

Craig Weir
Cafaidh Senior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    43
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent home made fresh food, lovely calm and friendly atmosphere, come here and sit on the first floor cafe, enjoy the ambience and avoid the rush and bustle of the main village.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Active A, at Active Cafaidh, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Active Cafaidh. It is always our aim to give all of our customers the same experience ,

Kind Regards

Craig Weir
Cafaidh Senior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“top breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

stopped by for breakfast because the mountain café had the usual queue. Never been to this café before but well impressed. Full breakfast and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs-full marks as the ingredients excellent quality, generous portions and the coffee is the best in town. Comfortable seating, nice service all round excellent. Will be back next time and get there earlier for the free porridge on top to get fuelled up for day in the hills.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skipper083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Active A, at Active Cafaidh, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Active Cafaidh. It is always our aim to give all of our customers the same experience ,

Kind Regards

Craig Weir
Cafaidh Senior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Hearty, delicious food, casual setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Enjoyed our first stop at the café. We were traveling with a local from Inverness who recommended it. Bread is baked locally and the tons of delicious sweets are baked in-house. locally sourced when possible, great children's menu and family friendly. I had a yummy soup that was fresh and flavorful. Delightful owner as well. Will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Active A, at Active Cafaidh, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Active Cafaidh. It is always our aim to give all of our customers the same experience ,

Kind Regards

Craig Weir
Cafaidh Senior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have been a few times now with friends and family and will definitely be returning ASAP. We all loved the food and the staff have always been really helpfull to us all!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlos1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Active Cafaidh also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Active Cafaidh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing