We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for an off peak brew” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Druie

The Druie
Ranked #14 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Druie takes its name from the burn(river) that rushes behind the restaurant and always seems in a hurry to carry clear, sparkling mountain water from the Cairngorms to the River Spey. We are open daily 9.30am - 5.00pm for locally roasted coffee, locally sourced tasty lunches,leaf teas and delicious homemade cakes, with a focus on dishes prepared from lovingly home produced beef from our pedigree herd of Highland cattle,our velvety venison from the ancient forest of Rothiemurchus and seasonal produce from specialist producers, served in a relaxed, friendly environment. Whilst enjoying your coffee or lunch at the Druie, you can enjoy the exhibition of local artwork which changes each month, especially selected by Ellie, who manages the Gallery at Loch an Eilein and is also a member of Creative Cairngorms.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place for an off peak brew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice coffee, friendly staff and okay value. We've seen it really busy from 11am onwards so worth heading for a cuppa away from peak times. Very nice location though and if the suns out sitting outside is also an option (although this is generally rare!) ;-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    91
    29
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“above average but not very good- portions on small side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good cafe and a nice shop (sells local products as well ) with lots to explore in the area. So lots of good things going for this place.
The cafe is small but has outside seating (overlooking a car park). The menu has things like a beef burgers/ bangers and mash/ risotto as well as usual suspects such as soup.
I like that there is often no queue but food is "good but not great".
I had risotto and it was too much balsamic vinegar.
Service could be attentive but soulless (maybe they feel busy?).
Portions are small I found. I never had cakes here though they look good often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maria y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best sausages and mash in a long while!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Another great find on our road trip round Scotland. So glad we called in. The food was sensational and the presentation fantastic. A credit to the chef. Busy place inside and out. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeCoachontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Attentive and efficient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff make this place really work well - congratulations.
We only had a snack but would'nt go anywhere else in this area during the day. Outdoor seating is a bonus to the excellent fare.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RS500Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for coffee/lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited twice during our stay in the area. Once for coffee and the other time for lunch. The food was very good (maybe somewhat heavy) and the service was excellent.

In addition to that there is a gift store attached to the restaurant. You can buy some regional specialties. Unfortunately, at the same gift shop people can book different "outdoor activities" and it can take quite a while to get served.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mloz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Druie also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Druie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing