We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Druie

The Druie
Ranked #14 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Druie takes its name from the burn(river) that rushes behind the restaurant and always seems in a hurry to carry clear, sparkling mountain water from the Cairngorms to the River Spey. We are open daily 9.30am - 5.00pm for locally roasted coffee, locally sourced tasty lunches,leaf teas and delicious homemade cakes, with a focus on dishes prepared from lovingly home produced beef from our pedigree herd of Highland cattle,our velvety venison from the ancient forest of Rothiemurchus and seasonal produce from specialist producers, served in a relaxed, friendly environment. Whilst enjoying your coffee or lunch at the Druie, you can enjoy the exhibition of local artwork which changes each month, especially selected by Ellie, who manages the Gallery at Loch an Eilein and is also a member of Creative Cairngorms.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Unfriendly, rude and impatient staff ruined what had been a fab day cycling. Staff showed contempt and unwillingness to serve takeaway coffee. We expected more and a smile at least.
Won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CiaoMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    93
    31
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
comber
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We can't speak highly enough of the quality of food this
Ittle cafe puts out. I had the hamburger which was delicious. Cooked med and using Highland beef with Mull cheddar, it really was a delight.

The next time I had the stew with chive mash. Again, delicious and certainly worth going back for. Emma had bruschetta which was just the best value at £7.95. It was HUGE with fresh feta and lovely crisp salads and sun kissed tomatoes.

We love our coffee. And these were the best we had. Bar none.. Well made cappuccino with tightly foamed milk. Everything was just fantastic about the place. The staff were so friendly and took the time to interact with you. I think the manageress in Clare. She certainly adds a bit of personality to the place and nothing seems to be a problem. All the other girls were absolutely great too.

Grab a coffee, buy some local produce in the deli next door and then go for gorgeous walk in Rothimurcus Esate after.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HendrixNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The highland beef hamburger was fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband stopped at Rothiemurchus to ask for directions. He was so taken with the deli that he came back out to the car to get my daughter and I. We had fun shopping in the deli and then discovered the cafe. Since it was close to the time that they opened for lunch, we decided to wait and eat lunch. I am so glad that we did. They serve organic highland beef and other locally sourced produce and meats. All three of us had the highland beef hamburger. This was a really good hamburger with something of a unique taste. We cannot recommend anything else on the menu, but I do suggest stopping by this unique deli/cafe for a look around, some cheese from the deli and a hamburger in the cafe.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dillopress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really wanted to like this place but the food.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The restaurant is a cosy wee place on entering and buzzing with people. The tables can sit 4 and after making a reservation were called 20 minutes later. The interim period was spent walking round the gift shop and deli all very enjoyable.
On being seated, the service was so-so. Menus were given and when making inquiries on the content of some of the dishes were told matter of factly that they were popular rather than what comprised the dish.
The sweet potato, coconut milk and chilli soup was served tepid (all 3 bowls) with pumpernickel bread. So all three bowls were sent back to be heated up. 10 minutes later the bowls of soup came back - perhaps firewood had to be found and a fire made. Anyway the cheesy beans for the kid came at 4 quid and consisted baked beans, some cheese on top on brown bread.
The soup at 4.25 each was destroyed in taste by the chilli which overpowers everything.
Anyway for 16 quid for soup and beans the value wasn't there.
The home-baking looked delicious but at 1.75 for a scone it wasn't that delicious and with the mountains of scones, cakes and biscuits on display it seemed the rest of the diners had much the same opinion.
As i said i really wanted to like this place but alas service and value needs to be improved before we return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JackBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A foodie's paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

One of the best meals ever! My daughters and I visited The Druie last Friday. One had the burger from Estate beef which we all pronounced the best burger we have eaten. Beautifully seasoned, cooked to medium rare with excelent chips, perfection. I had breast of grouse which put most top London restaurants to shame in presentation, flavours and sheer pleasure of taste. Perfection too. Sadly we could not linger for the cakes but all the more reason to go back, which we will. The service was welcoming and excellent and the atmosphere relaxed and cosy. All in all, a MUST for any serious foodie and in these straitened times excellent value. Well done to the Grants and Rothiemurcus for creating this wee haven of gastronomy!

Michael Mackenzie

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMRMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Druie also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Druie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing