We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic freshly prepared food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of International Starters - CLOSED

International Starters
Cuisines: International, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Newtonmore, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic freshly prepared food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

An enjoyable evening with a fun combination of meals. A concept that seems strange but makes for a most exciting meal in a very well serviced restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Strange name but worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This looked a nice place and although the food was good we felt that the menu was rather limited in choice. Certainly it did offer various forign dishes if you liked variety from various countries.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcoyle, Owner at International Starters, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. For future customers, we have 2 menus available. We have our original menu which consists of over 40 starters from around the world and has a tapas theme to it, hence the name of the restaurant. We added the second menu earlier this year for those who would rather have a main meal and this menu is a little smaller as it is a supplement menu. There is plenty of choice between our 2 menus and we hope that our customers will continue to enjoy the wide variety of food on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived late in Aviemore and were told about this restaurant. They could not have been more helpful and we had afew drinks and a light meal . The food was delicious and just what we wanted.

Nice place slightly North of the main town centre but worth it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Winter menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

value for money on a set menu was superb. Two courses for 10 pound. food was superb and choice was also very good. would recommend

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank scotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unremarkable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

There's nothing to draw you to this restaraunt from the outside. We went on the basis of the sister venue in Edinburgh but this had none of its atmosphere. For a place that specialises in its menu being drawn from different countries its interior could be anywhere. Having the radio playing rather than music also detracted from the atmosphere. All our food was fine but unremarkable.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Starters also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing