We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Kirkwall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed a night in January in a family room. I've stayed in this hotel before and its badly needing some work done which does seem to be going on now. Woke this morning to work men every where, hammering and the smell of paint which just isn't 4star. Key frustration again was the signage to check in at the main building, staying in another and staff confusion around where breakfast was in the morning. Not good when its pouring with rain and you're going from one complex to another. Food, breakfast in particular good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to share your resort experience.
I am sorry that you were dissapointed with certain aspects of your stay - we always aim for the highest possible standards and take it seriously if guests feel that this is no the case.
Please note that your comments and concerns have been passed on to the relevant departments.
I am happy that you enjoyed your dining experiences - breakfast always tends to be popular with our guests.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    249
    182
    95
    49
See reviews for
210
349
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights while attending a conference in the main building. The reception area, auditorium, & meeting rooms are fantastic, and the location is beautiful. There's even wee rabbits hopping about the grounds which is good to see first thing in the morning!
The staff were pretty friendly and everything was really clean!

However, I wasn't really at all impressed with my room. I was in the aviemore inn and the beds weren't comfy at all, as well as the shower being probably the worst I've ever used in a hotel. Also, during the night myself and a few of the neighbouring rooms were woken up repeatedly by the radiators & pipes making banging noises.. Although maybe that can't be helped. You can also hear every conversation happening in the rooms around you - this didn't bother me personally but i know of a few people who got frustrated with this during our stay. I never personally got a chance to use the gym/pool/sauna facilities but from the rest of my group they were great!

I wouldn't go out my way to stay here again, but it wasn't a bad experience at all! Worth it for the location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew.
I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the room you stayed in whilst on the resort - I do apologise abour the issues you experienced with your shower. I do wish you would have mentioned it directly to us during you stay in order to find you a room more accommodating.

Thank you for you lovely words regarding the conference facilities - I am delighted that you enjoyed them.

We hope you welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast . The food was excellent . The last night we had blade of beef for our main course . Just melted in the mouth . Would highly recommend food and restaurant service .

Room Tip: They are working in certain areas of the hotel but caused no problems . We passed the workmen on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience whilst staying with us - i know that the restaurant will be happy to hear your wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcome you back again,

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel sits within the MacDonald Aviemore resort. I booked via a booking company but check the MacDonald web site out for deals. The reception area is smart and modern, as are the restaurant and bar. The bedrooms are a bit more dated and slightly worn but still pleasant enough. The TV is old world, no flat screens here. The bed is large and comfortable and our room had views of the hills. The bathroom could do with some TLC. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of food to choose from. Overall it was fine but not quite what I hoped for. The hotel is currently being "renovated", well there are lots of work being done which is a bit noisy.

Helpful?
Thank Bfmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that you had a nice stay and thank we appreciate your constructive feedback, The current investment into the resort will ensure that we will always be able to offer the best possible guest servive.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday on the the 28th dec.wanted to get away for couple nights and decided aviemore.was looking for a nice hotel.looked at the hilton but thought the macdonald highlands sounded better, i was wrong.on arriving at night was so hard to tell where the reception was for the highland hotel.lighting was very poor and to make things worse the paths to walk to hotel where shocking,slabs where broken and rocking all over the place.tripping more than once one way there.reception was very hard to find.the arrival area of hotel was nice and lovely but once we got to room looked like we had stepped back in time.and bathrooms where so small, so disappointed from start really,i can not fault the attitude of the staff but for this to be marked a 4star is very far off the mark i would say,i would say the meal in the restaurant was great but thats the one and only good thing i have to say about the hotel.the noise was another factor.it felt like the room door was wide open,could hear every word and noise of other people moving about and from rooms next door,the people wasnt even being noisy but could hear everything,was left so disappointed at having looked forward to our weekend away that hotel let us down,really wishing i had booked the hilton now.would not be rushing back to macdonalds highland hotel anytime.other thing was the pool looked like a public swimming pool, i know its a resort but should be more facilities for other people in mind.i could really go on but would be here all day.would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: go to the hilton to have a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry to read your review and learn that you were left feeling disappointed with your stay, we always aim to offer the highest possible guest service and we take it seriously when guest feel that this is not the case.
Your comments regarding the decor of the room have been taken on board - the on going investment into the resort will ensure that we can continue to offer that high guest service and the Highlands hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment.
I am sorry to hear that you experience some noise whist staying with us; I do wish you would have informed us of this issue during your stay – in order for us to find you a room that would have been more suitable for you stay.
Thank you for you kind words regarding the dining and our staff. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant and that the staff made you feel welcome.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the highlands hotel for the 3 night hogmanay break. Hotel was nice, clean and the staff were very attentive. We were a bit unsure before staying at this hotel due to the previous negative reviews but personally we couldn't fault the hotel. Breakfast was fantastic with a good range of hot and cold food. Food was very nice in the aspects restaurant. If you stop for hogmanay and do not have young children, I would recommend upgrading to the dinner dance in the peregrine suite as this was brilliant. My mum is a coeliac and it is normally a battle to find gluten free food but not at this hotel, they had gf bread for breakfast and gf options for dinner. The staff are very helpful when advising which food was suitable. The hotel is a short walk into aviemore so perfect location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 885emmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Hogmanay period and found the resort accommodating for yourself and you family.
Thank you for your kind words in regards to the dining offered on site - it is wonderful that you enjoyed it and I know the restaurants will be delighted to hear your wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Another brilliant visit to this hotel. The staff are so attentive and make the children feel special. The children's menus include real food, not just frozen nuggets and fish fingers! There was so much going on on resort that we didn't even try to leave this time, just enjoyed the Christmas activities and various trips to the pool. Only negative point is that the pool area was a bit grotty - especially the floors in the changing room. Hard to keep clean with such busy flow of people, but more effort could be made in this regard. That said, we all enjoyed the flume and the waves and we even took it in turns for some chill out time in the sauna - bliss.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am delighted that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us – it is a pleasure to read.
Thank you for your comments regarding the leisure facilities – they have been taken on board.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travellers. For relaxation there's direct access to Aviemore Activity Centre, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whisky bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Macdonald Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing