We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

On arrival the chap at the front desk told us everything we need to know, he was most helpful. We stayed in an exective room and it was very nice. Clean and it had hanging space etc. Tea and coffee in the room and breakfast was very nice. I would go again.

We got a good deal by ringing up the day before and talking to the hotel direct. Much cheaper than anything we could see on the Internet.

The only small downside was there was no free Internet in the room but we .. just about.. managed to live without it for one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Steph1e
Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am delighted to hear that you had a good time staying at the resort and that the staff made you feel welcome, I know they will be happy to hear that. Please note that we do now offer free wi-fi in all public areas at the resort.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort.
Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    246
    178
    94
    44
See reviews for
205
345
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked the 4* Highlands Hotel for our anniversary this year as a wee treat. Once we had checked in I have to say that the room was quite disappointing as it was very dated with an ancient TV and furniture that needed some TLC. However, the bed was massive and very comfortable. The bathroom was very small with nowhere to put your own toiletries though. Overall the stay was nice and the meal and service received at the hotels restaurant Aspects making up for disappointing room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sarah A
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a good dining experience in Aspects Restaurant.
Please note that your comments regarding the room have been taken on board.
We look forward to welcome you back again in the future.
Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is part of a holiday village set in the most beautiful environment. The hotel itself is a little dated and would benefit from a bit of a face lift. The room was a good size and the bed particularly so but the bathroom was small with no real space to lay out toiletries. The tv in the room was old which added to the sense of out- datedness.
The breakfast room was bright and airy and the food remarkably fresh given the volume of guests being catered for. A very good selection of hot and cold breakfast options.
But what was best was the attitude of the staff. Everyone was so helpful and friendly and that's what made it such a good experience. I would definitely go back and would on my experience highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeegieQuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear WeegieQuine
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the resort accommodation. I am particularly happy to hear that the staff made you feel welcome – that is something that we work hard on and I know that every one of them will be happy to hear your kind words.
I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast experience – something that most of our guests tend to comment positively on.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort.
Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We only stayed two nights, but it was the second occasion that we have stayed. The room was perfect, clean, modern, comfortable, quiet and everything else you could possibly have needed. I believe our room had probably been re-furbished recently as although our daughters room was clean, it certainly looked more tired than ours. Staff bent over backwards to help and on the second night I was feeling quite unwell, retiring to my bed by 6pm. Our daughter had a quiet word with someone in the restaurant and without hesitation they rustled up poached eggs on toast for me as it was the only thing I felt I could eat. They then charged a very nominal amount on the bill which you certainly couldn't grumble about. We didn't really use any of the extras available such as the pool etc. but from what we saw, every area looked clean and staff were polite and helpful at all times. We definitely plan on returning to the same hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter than those at the front - not that there was a problem with noise at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Delia62
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that the you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were accommodating to your needs when you were feeling unwell. Please note that your feedback has been passed on to the relevant department.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort – under circumstances where you will hopefully be feeling better and will get the opportunity to make use of our leisure facilities.

Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here as part of a C.I.E. Scottish Highlands tour. The place looks impressive, and obvious caters to a rich clientele of holidaymakers and golfers. First impression was very good, but we quickly found staff to be unsmiling, and most did not understand very many words of English, even in the dining room. Our room was a good size and clean. This is a relatively new property so we certainly din't expect to find black mold around the tub and the sink area, and poorly repaired areas on the wall. Chipped floor tile (also moldy at joins). We had dinner here and 2 breakfasts. Mediocre service, fair quality food (not near as good as we expected), and confusion as to where to sit in dining room. Overall a disappointing stay as what could be a 5 star hotel with management would only visit rooms and attend to the small details...and train their staff to SMILE! It's location is fine for golf, but too far out of town for a walk or to find evening entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenny333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Lenny333
Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I do wish you would have brought up your concerns regarding your room with us, in order for us to fix the issues or find a room more comfortable for your stay. Please note that you comments regarding your dining experience have been taken on board and passed on and I am sorry that you felt let down.
We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back – in that case please do not hesitate to contact us before hand in order for us to ensure that you will enjoy your stay.

Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights.I thought the room was nice and big but a little dated, The bathroom was really needing some tlc broken tile and badly chipped door and bath panel not up to standard I would of thought for this 4 star hotel. Also we got a paper delivered on both days although we never ordered this and then was charged £5.00 on checking out. Breakfast was good with alot of variety to choose from, but really expensive if you want to drink at bar. Spa and pool really good too, overall ok but nothing like I expected.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear lynneda
Thank you for the time taken to write a review on Trip Advisor, we highly appreciate all guest feedback.
I am happy to hear that you had to opportunity to use the leisure facilities offered on site and that you enjoyed them.
I am sorry to see there was some confusion with the newspapers you received – please get in contact with us directly with your details and allow us to refund you for the charges. Please note that your comments regarding the décor have been taken on board.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Best regards
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Highlands during a two night stay at the Aviemore resort.

Check in was swift and we were able to get into our room early. The room itself was a good size but the bathroom was small and there weren't places to put a toiletry bag.

We used the leisure facilities early in the evening we stayed. It was much quieter than during the day when families were using it.

Breakfast was of good quality.

If we found the same rate for the room we would return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Ash_Black
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us, guest feedback is always highly appreciated. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the second part of your stay at the resort and had a comfortable nights sleep.
The breakfast always tends to be very popular with our guests, and I am glad to hear that you liked it.
We look forward to welcome you back again.
Best regards,
Hanna Wolimbwa
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travelers. For relaxation there's direct access to the Leisure Arena, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whiskey bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel
Hotel Macdonald Highlands
Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing