We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were really looking forward to staying in this hotel but felt very let down by the standard of accommodation in what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel! We were given a room downstairs at ground level which looked out to the car park. We asked to be moved to a room with a better outlook, as being in such a beautiful area of Scotland, we wanted to appreciate the scenery from our room. We were given a room with a better outlook but on opening the door, we noticed that the window was open and we were hit with a musty, damp mop smell! We didn't like to ask for another change of room and thought if we kept the window open we would cope, this was a mistake! When I put my head down on the pillow to sleep I could taste and smell that damp musty smell even with the window open all night! We did not have a good nights sleep at all. The bedrooms are dated, the coffee tables were marked and everything looked old. The bathroom was also dated and the bottom of the shower screen needed a good scrub, or soaked in a bleach solution as it was dirty!
On a more positive note, the dinner we had was delicious and the waitress and waiter were a credit to the restaurant, very professional, friendly and worked so efficiently and always with a smile too! The breakfast we had was also good, no complaints there.
We found all staff to be very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a change of room if you are unhappy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnhe1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    237
    173
    92
    40
See reviews for
199
332
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cruden Bay (Port Erroll), United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

On entering the room it looked super. Big room with a massive bed. However the TV was an old fashioned non-flat screen with a crackled picture. There was no wi-fi in our room. The bathroom was just big enough for the toilet, sink and bath - minute!

I was really annoyed to go out for the morning and come back to find the room unmade! The cleaner knocked on the door at 2pm. I'm not fussy - just like the bed made up and looking hotel smart.

Woken up early by loud buzzing and vibrating. We seemed to be above the hotel boiler room.

No net/voile on the windows and as we were in a corner room and slightly higher than our neighbours we could see into their room. Suppose the guests above them could see into our room too.

Think they awarded a 4 star to themselves! Not the luxurious experience I paid for! Too many niggling irritations for a £253 2 night stay!

Room Tip: Not 2291! Above the hotel boiler room. Fine if you want an early morning wake up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was staying at one of the other hotels but before arrival was told I had been upgraded to this one, reading the reviews I was dreading it! I couldn't have been more impressed room spacious clean and warm breakfast was vast and locally sourced and delicious. So all good so far. Then I went to the pool which is (for a hotel) huge - its a proper lap pool plus a kids pool on the side with slide. Open 8-8 so plenty of time for a good swim. it can get busy in the evening as it is let out to community groups - best to ask as when they have the lanes the rest of the pool is just an open session so can be difficult to swim legnths. The grounds are smarter than last time I was here and the staff so helpful and courteous. Fantastic. Easy access to the train station (the highland rover ticket is valid from here and offers great value) and for local busses up to the mountains or pretty granton/ boat of garton etc and other local villages (16quid for a 7 day ticket amazingly good value and so many stunning views) All in all faultless!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemasonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

£26 to swim in a dirty pool with loads of Brocken cubicles and wave machine not working along with flume. Cold pool, dirty cafe and staff that cannot be bothered. In all a terrible experience. The coffee was also poor and the cafe dirty

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosierowand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My stay at the Macdonald was very good although it has some downsides.

We had executive rooms which were very comfortable and up to four star standards. The staff were very helpful and service was generally good. The quality of hot food at the breakfast buffet was very high.

Now the downsides:

The hotel, and the resort in general, looks like it was built in the 70s. Macdonald has done its best to update it, but somehow it doesn't quite work.

Usually in the UK we don't build things big enough resulting in everything being too cramped and overcrowded. The Macdonald result seems the opposite - the restaurants, bar, lounge, even the car parks, seem too large for the number of poeple staying, which at times made us felt like we were the only guests, even though we were told they were actually busy.

Although the executive rooms were good, I did catch a glimpse of the standard rooms which didn't look to be four star standard, The corridors, and one of our rooms, smelled damp.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room - standard rooms are not four star standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mibry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 day visit. Staff were very helpful and the morning breakfast was lovely + tasty. Rooms were big enough fr a short visit. The hotels location is 10 min walk to centre of town and has loads of parking areas.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Once again had a great stay at this Hotel for the Thunder in the Glens weekend, in fact we extended our stay for another day. We had booked late this year and the hotel gave my hubby a courtesy call to see if we knew that Aviemore was being taken over by Harley Davidsons for the weekend. This wasnt a problem for us as we were attending the event, my husband just happened to mention our anniversary, the hotel made a note. We arrived early, check in should be 4pm we arrived at 10.30 naturally we couldnt check in to our room, but the staff kindly provided a safe place for our panniers etc so that we could join the the ride out to Grantown on Spey. Arrived back at 2.30ish and our room was ready,plus the hotel had upgraded us to an executive room, plus in our room there was a lovely plate of fruit with a message congratulating us on our anniversary. The Breakfast each morning was superb as usual,with everything you could possibly want, the sausage are fab. the staff were lovely, can't fault this place. The room was great couldn't open the window, but left a note for housekeeping and it was sorted right away.I couldnt find any faults, Thanks for a great anniversary long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travelers. For relaxation there's direct access to the Leisure Arena, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whiskey bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel
Hotel Macdonald Highlands
Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing