We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, efficient hotel with nice pool, if you don't mind the corporate resort feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights in a family room. Nice double bed with camp beds for the kids. All sparkling and dandy.

Really good buffet breakfast.

Good sized and pleasant pool open 8-8 with slide open half time for core hours. Wave machine not working when we were there. Small sauna and steam room free too, though could have been hotter.

Staff all friendly and helpful.

Just a 5 mins walk to Aviemore, which has decent choice of placed to eat and drink.

Glad we stayed at the Highland rather than the Academy hotel on same complex where the kids club is and where they tend to direct families. Well worth the modest extra fee per night.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoganJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 840 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here with Cosmos Tour. Cetainly hope Comos reviews their policy of using this hotel. All other hotels used by Comos were excellent. Hotel is very much in need of updating and the housekeeping dept could also use some education. The staff was not only unhelpful also very unfriendly. The hotel is set up to have reception areas for the different room locations but was only staffed at the main hotel making it very inconvenient. All ammenities were not ammenities at all because you paid dearly for them!!

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Poor start to our stay due to late entry to room? Couldn't get keys to room until 4pm.
Reception staff were very poor and unhelpful.
Strong smell of paint in our bathroom.
Rooms very out of date and carpet stained.
All ammenities on site were very expensive.
Not value for money.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I'm going to stop going to MacDonald hotels. They all look good on the surface but don't stand up to closer inspection - this one had a grubby toilet and lots of electrical appliances not plugged in - which meant I ended up shifting furniture around for access. Everything seems overly expensive but I was shocked at the in room call charges - see photo. Rip off?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warren_zevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Used loyalty points for a 3 night stay in the Highland Hotel for my wife, two kids (aged 4 and 7) and myself on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Despite having sufficient points, for some reason we still had to pay a supplement per night for our eldest child and pay for dinner for both children - not quite sure why, but all in all it worked out a very inexpensive stay.

We've been going to the Aviemore resort for around 6 years now, mostly at Christmas. On each occasion it's definitely a worse experience than the previous one. This time it definitely has the feel that it's being run down.

No more Aviemore Adventurers (no longer with you every day!), no wave machine and jacuzzi off. Upon speaking to staff, we were advised that the wave machine has been inoperable for around 2 to 3 months and won't be getting fixed due to costs (apparently it's a big job). No mention of this at time of booking or at check in. Although it's still advertised on their web-site, all their literature and on the billboard which meets you on the driveway on the way in - surely a breach of trading standards there I would have imagined. The kids were really disappointed and as a consequence we only used the pool once - normally we would have been in at least once every day or they would have pestered us to death.

Dining is now restricted to either the Aspects, Geovanni's Itialian restaurants on-site or the Steak House at the Golf Resort - the buffet option in the Food Court is no longer available, which was what we have always used before as it's better suited to young kids.

We dined in Geovanni's twice and Aspects once. Both were very good but a bit uncomfortable with two young kinds in Aspects as it's quiet and a bit more posh. Food was very good in both. Main course in Aspects was about the best I've had anywhere.

Staff are very pleasant in general.

There is a kids activity programme throughout the day every day. We didn't make use of these so can't comment.

Other thing worth mentioning was that we (well my eldest child really) lost a key card for the room. We asked and expected both key cards to be deactivated and new ones activated but reception refused to deactivate them on the basis that the room number's are not printed on the cards. They didn't think that anybody would try the card in several rooms on the off chance that they would strike lucky. Aviemore can't have the same type of dodgy characters you would find where we come from! There wasn't a safe in the room, so felt a bit exposed with regards to our valuables and slept with a chair jammed against the door.

Don't want to drone on, so in summary, it's going down hill and it's unlikely we'll be back. Had we paid full price, I would have been asking for a refund.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve-l-edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were staying locally and decided to use macdonald resort for a swim. We were charged £26 for a family swim being 2 adults and a 3 & 5 yr old. On entering the pool the wave machine was not working and the spa pool out of action. The seating area had one table two upright chairs and two loungers. The staff were the only pleasant thing about our visit, friendly and helpful. Shower areas were thick with pink body fat, hasn't seen a scrubbing brush in a while!

The kids played in the softplay afterwards at £4 per head and ordered coffee, tea, kids boxes and panini amounting to £18, and the tea and coffee to be served in slush puppy cups! The poor member of staff was trying her best.

Having been familiar with the area for numerous years the standards if the Macdonald Highland Resort have gone downhill considerably and feel it is overpriced, overrated and at present not worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mandelie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had a girly pampering weekend for my 21st birthday.
Hotel reception lovely, rooms were a little dated but they were clean and nice. Our beds were very comfy which was an added bonus.
Had an amazing time at the Vital Spa, def recommend visiting there for pampering.
Went to the italian for our dinner, had a good meal which was reasonably priced, except the wine list which was expensive.
The drinks were quite expensive in the Laggan Bar but the waitor was very good and made us cocktails which weren't on the menu. They were delicious!

Overall the resort is lovely, had a really good weekend and would return here for another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soph1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,365 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range: $131 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travellers. For relaxation there's direct access to Aviemore Activity Centre, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whisky bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Macdonald Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing