We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
2 reviews
“Excellent value”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Just back from a 2 day stay at this hotel. Staff were great. Food in aspects restaurant was superb. Also breakfast was of a great standard. Gym not great( as a leisure centre manager) good equipment in need of service, pool basic but clean. Golf course superb and massage staff were also brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear Golfcol
Thank you for your feedback – it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about the resort and staff. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Macdonald Aviemore Resort in the future.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    246
    178
    94
    44
See reviews for
205
345
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Another lovely weekend break at the Macdonald Highland. Nice hotel, nice food , nice staff! We will be back !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear tiggScotland
Thank you for the positive comments that you have given the hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from a regular visitor that they have once again enjoyed their stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Room was fine, nothing special and the bathroom needed some freshening up. The location was okay....a pleasant walk to the centre of Aviemore....just felt the Highlands resort had little in the way of atmosphere. Breakfast was actually tasty and the selection was pretty good....unfortuantely things went downhill when my husband had to wait 25 minutes to check out. This was very poor considering it was the start of the kids' Easter hols and the hotel must have known they were going to be busy!

I shan't return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseSAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear LouiseSAbuDhabi
Thank you for your feedback. We receive lots of positive feedback about our breakfast service and have won awards as a company for the high standards we offer.
Please be reassured that we have taken on board your feedback about check out and hope to welcome you back soon.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed here in March for a short snowboarding break and loved it! It was a great place to be based with great facilities, including swimming pool, sauna etc which you could access without having to go outside. These facilities came in very handy after a day on the slopes. Room was a good size and clean and modern. We didn't eat in the hotel (except breakfast which was amazing) as there are so many great places to eat in Aviemore.. I'd recommend the Old Bridge Inn, Cairngorm Hotel and International Starters. The Mountain cafe at the ski resort also served great food - just what was needed for a day on the slopes. Hotel looks ideal for families too with an outdoor kid's play area and cinema to help keep them entertained. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL_1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear DJWH
Thank you for the positive comments about our hotel and the onsite facilities. It is always good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Highlands hotel.
The leisure facilities have proved very popular with many of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Aviemore Resort in the near future and hope that the next time you do visit you will join us in one of our many restaurants, so you get the opportunity to try them too.

Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We spent the Easter weekend at the resort and it was fantastic. The kids entertainment was great- Captain Ice and his team were hilarious. We spoke with a lot of the hotel staff and found them to be helpful and very pleasant. The breakfasts were great and nothing was too much bother - Gabriela was an extremely pleasant girl!
One thing I would say- the hotel could do with some lighter options for lunch i.e. soup and a sandwich (although the chef did make us a sandwich when we asked). In fact after we ordered our sandwich several others followed suit. Oh and finally, why charge for internet access - it's 2011

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcnails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Mcnails
Thank you for your feedback – it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about the resort and the staff and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments concerning lighter lunch options have been passed to our chef and this be implemented, as it is a totally valid point and something families will want. Thank you for pointing this out.

Our company offers competitive Wifi pricing across the resort however your comments about this being free have been noted and will be added to our customer comments file for suggested improvements.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed at the Macdonald Highlands Hotel for a few days after our wedding and I was a bit dissapointed. The best thing about our room was our bed which was big and comfortable. The room itself was not the biggest and looked as if it needed a major revamp. The corridors of the hotel were pretty unpleasent with the walls needing a fresh lick of paint and the carpet needing ripped up and replaced. The leasure facilities are good but the food was highly average. This hotel is not four star hotel. Its ok though

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtbairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear gtbairns
Thank you for your comments. Delivering the highest standards of service for all our guests is at the heart of our core values and we always welcome feedback where you feel this has not been the case.
We note your comments about the décor of the hotel and will ensure that we take these points on board.
Thank you again
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We went to Aviemore for a ski-ing trip and enjoyed our stay at the Mcdonalds hotel.

Room was very comfortable and breakfast was great.

Also nice to have pool for use after ski-ing.

Restaurant food was also good although it would have been nicer if there was a little more variety. Service was also good but be felt dinner was a little rushed. (guess this is because we were there mid week so not many people around but staff were used to high turnover of customers in busier times)

Overall it was a relaxing experience and we had a great time. It was also really good value and we would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Edstu

Thank you for the positive feedback that you have written about our hotel.

We note your comments regarding dinner choices and we will look at this feedback when conducting our menu reviews.

Thank you again for taking time out to provide us with your views and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Property: Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Address: Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in style and complete comfort at the 4-star Macdonald Highlands Hotel. With 151 luxury rooms-with-a-view and its own signature restaurant, Aspects, boasting spectacular views of the Cairngorm Mountains, the Highlands Hotel is ideal for discerning business and leisure travelers. For relaxation there's direct access to the Leisure Arena, a TV lounge with comfy sofas and a DVD player, and the cozy Laggan whiskey bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Highlands Aviemore
Macdonald Highlands Hotel
Hotel Macdonald Highlands
Highlands Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing