We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every aspect of your stay is wonderfull!”
Review of Glenmore Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenmore Lodge
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Did my UKCC Level 1 training & assessment with Glenmore lodge..............the reputation of excellence for every aspect of your stay does not do it justice- a wonderful location, with wonderful staff & wonderful food!
It far exceeded expectation & I've since stayed in one of the self catering chalets, a tranquil clean & fantastic place to stay with your own drying room (so brilliantly handy that im tempted to build one at home!) Im without a shadow of a doubt going to book there again for my next UKCC course.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Active A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Public Relations Manager at Glenmore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

We just wanted to write and say thank you for such a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. Dont forget our self catering chalets are available for anyone to book at any time (subject to availability!), so you dont need to be on a course to enjoy the facilities.

Hope we see you again soon.

Simon Fisher
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 78 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

We booked up for a couple of nights at Glenmore lodge, staying in one of the self-contained lodges in the grounds, after having previously stayed in the main lodge for a night. We were a bit taken aback when we re-read the booking information which stated that we couldn't access the lodge until 7pm on the day of arrival, but decided just to go to Reception and ask about it when we got to Aviemore (around 3.30pm). We were delighted when the very pleasant and helpful girl on Reception told us that because it hadn't been used the previous day, it was all ready and we could just go and settle in.

The lodge was large and spacious, spotlessly clean and very cosy. It was snowing while we were there and it says something about the power of the storage heaters that we ended up needing to open the windows because we'd set them too high at first!

The beds were extremely comfortable, very new-looking mattresses, very new-looking bedding and all the furniture was nice solid chunky pine.

The open plan kitchen/dining/living area was a good size with lots of storage and preparation space.

The drying room was wonderful - I want one of them for my house!

The walks around the lodge are wonderful, as is Aviemore and the surrounding area generally, we will almost certainly be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Manager at Glenmore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Dear D31,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Glenmore Lodge and thank you for the review. As we are primarily a training centre running outdoor activities we have a 5pm check-out policy. This enables guest to return to their room at the end of the day to shower and change before heading home, this does however mean that check-in isn’t usually possible until 7pm. The good news is that you benefit from the same late check-out on the day you leave.

We hope to see you again soon.

Simon.
Marketing & PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Firstly, let me say the staff at Glenmore Lodge are absolutely fantastic, especially Nancy and the front of house staff. So knowledgeable and polite, they made the course I did superb. Rooms are very basic but clean, food healthy and tasty. If you're at the lodge for a course I doubt there are better instructors in Europe, that's how good they are. Practical skills are backed up with in-depth lectures and the whole place has a very health-conscious atmosphere, as you'd expect. Thoroughly recommend Glenmore Lodge. Five stars to everyone, well done folks.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougieRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Wonderful location, but I can't stand organisations and hotels spouting about their environmental credentials when they waste energy.
The buildings energy rating was G, the worst. In fact it was way off the scale, 173 where G was only up to 100.
This centre could have used geothermal / wind / much more solar / water power, for it energy needs. Instead the vast majority is from the grid and because the building rating is so bad, most of that is wasted.
Having your packed lunch in biodegradable plastic bags bags looks like it being 'kind' to the environment but not when course delegates are are flying there from all over the UK.

Room Tip: Bring a fan heater in very cold weather. The room are cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zachuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Public Relations Manager at Glenmore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

We are sorry that you felt that our efforts towards the environment were just lip service. All of us here at Glenmore Lodge work hard every day to lessen our impact on the environment, that is why we have been awarded the Green Tourism Business Scheme Gold award two years in a row and are currently shortlisted for an award placing us in the top 48 of the 2400 businesses registered for the scheme.

You are correct that our building rating is 173, however as we are currently listed in the wrong category we are not being compared with similar sized and building usage. Once we have our reclassification approved our 'letter' rating will significantly improve.

At the point of your stay had already installed solar energy and are about to commision either biomass or ground source as a greener energy alternative. We have been sourcing this for a number of months but the planning and regulation within a national park is a much longer process than in a city as environmental awareness for us means much more than just a reduction in CO2.

Throughout the year the room temperatures are maintained at what we beleive is a comfortable level and rarely receive comments. If guests are cold then we would always be able to provide additional duvets or blankets which we beleive is a better solution envirnomentally.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed at Glenmore Lodge for 8 days, on the above course. The facilities were excellent, the staff friendly, professional and efficient and the catering was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seabhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Glenmor Lodge provides an unusual experience. Set in stunning location as part of an outdoor centre, it won't give you the frills of a hotel but the rooms are of a high quality if you manage to get the right wing. Food is simple and lacks choice as it caters for the outdoor enthusiasts on courses but is tasy and nutritious. The small bar has a comfortable feel, just right for a relaxing night after being in the coutryside.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyk0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I have stayed at Glenmore Lodge on numerous occasions over the last few years. The facilities are second to none in the area: climbing wall, dry ski slope, gym, sauna, pool, bar, etc.

The location is great, set amidst a forest with views over the northern corries, and only a few minutes drive to the ski centre.

The lodge is mainly there to provide outdoor intstruction courses for everyone from beginners and proffesionals getting their qualifications and it is testamount to their pedigree that people regularly travel up from the south of england to train here.

Cant fault the place.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist what you are wanting??????...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank big-holiday-addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
6 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore Lodge

Address: Glenmore, Aviemore PH22 1QU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Scotland's National Outdoor Training Centre located in the heart of Cairngorms National Park. Learn, develop or qualify in an adventure sport of your choice. Our goal is to inspire adventure by teaching beginners, coaching intermediate/advanced and delivering training and assessment courses for leaders and instructors.Our role is as a national resource to the outdoor industry and community. Whether you are an individual, company, freelancer or offical body, we are here for you.Unless stated, our UK residential courses are fully inclusive of instruction, accommodation the night before your course commences, full board and accommodation during the course, course transport & equipment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenmore Lodge Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing