We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Tandoori

Royal Tandoori
Ranked #30 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Inverness
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We ended up in the Royal Tandoori last night for a meal with business colleagues because the Old Bridge Inn wasn't serving food.

Staff were really nice and friendly, despite one wiping his nose on the back of his hand just as he served a plate of food!

We had mixed starters and these were pretty poor with the lamb and chicken tikka being cold and of a very strange texture which concerned us all. Was it cooked? Must of been as we survived but it wasn't very nice...

The main courses were basic and not very inspiring. My naga lamb was very bland despite being the hottest on the menu and my colleagues said theirs were similar.

Not a great experience.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sonicthemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    129
    42
    33
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
“Nice- but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We'd actually planned to go to the place next door which was closed and went here on a whim.
It was fairly busy for a Tuesday night but service was prompt.
They have an extensive menu with all the well known favourites along with quite a number of their own specialities. If I was to be super-critical I might suggest the menu is a little too extensive.
The food was good and the portions large, no complaints there at all.
However I would say that prices are on the high side. For two people without drinks and dessert it was just over £40. I did see on the menu they did a three course lunch special for £8 so that may be a better option.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilSan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great food, great service, Reasonably priced, Chicken Tikka Masala very creamy and the poppodoms and pickle tray was excellent, draught beer a bit flat though.Not a lot more to say really.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smiler1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic takeaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Can't fault the food lots of choice and some unusual dishes to choose from. We had a takeaway and the service was really quick the food was mega scrummy and the popadoms and pickles were an extra bonus.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unexpected Gem in Aviemore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Upon exiting the restaurant, Anju, our waiter, urged us to get on Tripadvisor to review this small hotspot. We rushed to the nearest exit cafe to write this review. Anju, whose name I hope we're spelling correctly, was extremely helpful in guiding three tired and hungry world travelers to a delicious meal. We had the meal for two and the lamb biryani, and the food was everything we needed - warm, delicious, and filling. The appetizers were great, too. Add the friendly service and welcome, along with Anju's genuine interest in where we were from and how our meal was going, and we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Tandoori also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Royal Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing