We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great real ale”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Bridge Inn

Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Bridge Inn, Aviemore, offers a roaring log fire and cheerful atmosphere along with excellent food and a fine selection of cask ales and malt whiskies. It has always been a favourite haunt for those who enjoy the outdoors, while friendly staff and locals always make you welcome.
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great real ale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My favourite kind of pub. Bags of character, great selection of beers, family and dog friendly! Haven't been lucky enough to catch any music there but it would be a good night I'm sure.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BaileyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    256
    91
    39
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
“Really nice looking and great views. But rude waitresses.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Sadly we couldn't eat as I was told to come back at 5.30 (this was about 2 ish) I was told by the guy that it would be quieter at that time.
So of we went and returned at 5.29 to be told by the ( very rude) waitresses that they were to busy to accommodate , when I explained that the guy told us to come back the blonde said that they couldn't think what guy has said that, basically called me a liar, so we left with hungry children and not happy.
When we walked outside who's sitting outside having a smoke THE GUY, but I thought sod it, so we left.
Such a shame it was our last night and told my husband about the open fire etc etc.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We went there for a nice meal for 2. The food was very good, one of the best in Aviemore.

But we weren't advised when booking that the table had to be back by a certain time... Wee bit annoying! An it seemed to be a little more expensive than other places in Aviemore, but by far better food!

Helpful?
Thank Jyl_yng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Aviemore generally serves a lot of average to good stock cuisine with little imagination but the Old Bridge Inn is fortunately one of the few places where this is not the case. We eat here periodically and they consistently serve great food presented with a bit of flair. Staff are always friendly and attentive. The open fire adds to the cozy pub feel and the beer selection is good. Agreed, its not the cheapest place but it still offers value for money compared to what you can get elsewhere in the village. It can be busy, so if planning to go in peak season or holiday periods make sure you book ahead.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Best place to eat in aviemore. Good quality food, friendly staff and a great atmosphere. Highly recommend eating here on your visit.

Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bridge Inn also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing