We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top nosh in Aviemore?”
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Bridge Inn, Aviemore, offers a roaring log fire and cheerful atmosphere along with excellent food and a fine selection of cask ales and malt whiskies. It has always been a favourite haunt for those who enjoy the outdoors, while friendly staff and locals always make you welcome.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top nosh in Aviemore?”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

a bit pricey but very tasty and great value for money - we thought we were spotting mains coming out of the kitchen and they looked tasty but they turned out to just be starters!! had a bass and the beef, both were excellent. great atmosphere in the pub as well and in a nice location tucked away off the main road. would love to stay in the guest house sometime. will definitely be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nulptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    267
    91
    39
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dufftown, Moray
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Called in with my wife for lunch after walking around the Lochs. Just what we were looking for and the area is short of. A pub that serves seriously good food at realistic prices. Starter soup of the day Scotch Broth, home made, delicious, the Pearl Barley was cooked to perfection as so often it resembles over cooked sago, this was served with large chunks of home made brown bread, the butter piped onto the dish in an attractive star shape. We opted for the roast beef as so few places offer it and we were not dissapointed. Super roasties with garlic (so creamy) excellent green veg and 2 thick slices of medium roasted beef with tast gravy. We couldn't eat a pudd. The place was busy and a table of 12 was being served at the same time but the waitress was attentive, informative and quick with the service and clearing away. What is there not to like about the Old bridge?? We will be back again for definite, thanks for a good experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobTheDogsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and environment”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wood burning fire
Huge selection of whisky
Small but perfectly formed menu
Visible kitchen
Fantastic atmosphere with friendly staff
Live music, cosy bar area.
Fillet steak with Ox Cheek was amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky_and_Darryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Innovative and tasty food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We met friends for dinner at the old bridge Inn Aviemore and all chose something different from the verY interesting menu. I had the most delicious Hare with a tiny suet pudding filled with a tasty concoction of shredded hare and other ingredients. Very gamely and tender. All the starters were exceptional - well presented and just the right amount not to overfill you before the mains. Service was excellent and the bill reasonable for such a splendid meal. Nice relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely be back when next in the Spey valley.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colinkath084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Old Bridge in was recommended to us by the owner of the B & B we stayed at in Aviemore. It is a charming old pub in a very picturesque setting. We had three courses and each were wonderful, beautifully cooked and so tasty. The service was excellent and the prices were good for the quality of the meals. If we return to Aviemore, I will certainly dine there again.
We spent 5 weeks toring in the UK and I would say by far, The Old Bridge Inn was my favourite place to dine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bridge Inn also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing