We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Bridge Inn, Aviemore, offers a roaring log fire and cheerful atmosphere along with excellent food and a fine selection of cask ales and malt whiskies. It has always been a favourite haunt for those who enjoy the outdoors, while friendly staff and locals always make you welcome.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went for a meal here one evening. The menu was re-assuring short and I would have eaten anything on it. The cooking was excellent. Recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    251
    90
    38
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We (my husband, my little 2.5 year old son and me) visited Aviemore a few days ago. My ex-colleague recommended this place so we went during our stay. It is a nice little cosy restaurant. The waiting staff were polite and friendly. My husband had pigeon as starter and grilled duck breast for his mains whereas I had creamy leek soup and grilled whole seabream. We also ordered an extra main veggie dish (which we don't remember the name) because we were so hungry and afraid it might not be enough for three of us. Our little boy had a bit of everything and he loved the fish especially!!! We were impressed with the way they served the fish. Usually, most restaurants serve fish fillets however this little place served the whole fish including head and tail. We enjoyed our dishes and our night there...we will definitely be back when we visit Aviemore!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ming L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“old brig inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

didn't expect the upmarket food from a scotish pub not a fancy food fan, it was good, but left feeling hungry. for those who like dick and hare etc it would be ideal

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Five of us ate here midweek in mid-winter for a significant birthday celebration. Food was absolutely fantastic with locally sourced ingredients cooked with care and flair. One of us regarded it as best ever meal (goat's cheese starter, melt in the mouth duck main - asked for and was given an extra fritter accompaniment to check it was as good as the first one and chocolate dessert), another considered the woodpigeon starter as "best ever game" and another "best ever taste and texture steak". Friendly, informal atmosphere, great beer, good wine and malt selection. Better than any of our collective experiences at Michelin star establishments. A real gem and seriously considering another 700 mile round trip just to eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveCoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great evening meal and beer here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a great place - excellent beer (trade winds), really friendly staff, great buzzing atmosphere (we were there on a sat night). The food was superb - might not be so great for Veggies, as there was only one main course option, but I had it and it was fantastic: some sort of odd German pasta and fresh veg: lovely. Not the cheapest pub grub, but then it's miles better than usual pub grub.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bridge Inn also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing