We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy old pub”
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Old Bridge Inn, Aviemore, offers a roaring log fire and cheerful atmosphere along with excellent food and a fine selection of cask ales and malt whiskies. It has always been a favourite haunt for those who enjoy the outdoors, while friendly staff and locals always make you welcome.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cosy old pub”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

On the other side of the railway track from the main town this is a lovely old pub. We visited in the afternoon just for drinks but the menu looked good (although pricey). Live music some evenings

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobertMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    271
    91
    39
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantown On spey Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Bithday”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Great night and fantastic food. Not cheap but very good quality and variety. Service very very good. Staff very attentive.
Great meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwd1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comber
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The total package!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed near Aviemore for a couple of weeks so we had cause to try a few places to eat but for th best you just have to give The Old Bridge Inn a go. It's a traditional Scottish Highland bar that has a restaurant too. They have live gigs, plenty of fine Malts and a great wine list.

The staff are friendly, efficient and accommodating, making you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. But probably the best thing would be the food. It's not your usual pub grub but fine restaurant fayre showcasing the best of the great local produce. We tried steaks, fish and a few starters and it was all superb. It's not cheap but it's not that expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HendrixNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved, loved this restaurant!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were looking for some place to eat around 6 pm. Thankfully we were looking that early because we were the last party to get a table without reservations! My husband and I were traveling with our daughter and her seven month old son early in September, 2012.

We were greeted by the friendliest wait staff. They were especially accommodating for my grandson. He loved all of the attention and therefore, was very well behaved at this restaurant, always a plus. It was a noisy and happy restaurant. We loved the building and the atmosphere.

The best part, though was the food. Maybe we had already been pre-conditioned by the prices at other restaurants, but we left there thinking this was one of the best meals for the price that we had. My husband and daughter had the venison special. They were sold on eating venison after this, but they never had another meal that was as good in the remaining week of our trip. I had one of the fish specials that was also very good. My advice to other diners: make reservations and be sure and eat the venison if it is on the menu!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dillopress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

After checking out various places on Trip Adviser we decided to come here for a nice evening meal. The place was quite quiet, service was good, food was excellent although a bit overpriced for what you got. Drinks a bit expensive as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bridge Inn also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing