We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better late than never!!”
Review of Speyside Wildlife

Speyside Wildlife
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Speyside Wildlife, the Scottish tour operator, offers wildlife watching experiences to suit everyone. We run fully inclusive, fully guided, bird, whale and mammal watching holidays, in Scotland and around the world, for enthusiasts of every ability, plus tailor-made wildlife watching tours of any length to suit your requirements. Visit our evening mammal watching hides in the Cairngorms National Park for close up and personal views of Pine Marten, Badgers and more! Accredited by VisitScotland, Green Tourism Business Scheme and Wild Scotland.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

First off the hide was lovely and comfortable especially with the heaters switched on. We arrived at 6pm but the first animal (other than the mice) did not arrive until 20.50hrs and then in the space of 50 minutes we had an adult pine martin 2 badgers and the a juvenile pine martin and we all went home very happy at about 10pm.

Thank dave f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Manager at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi Dave - it's great to hear that your patience was so well rewarded! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit and upload your photos - we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pine martin"
in 33 reviews
"tawny owl"
in 16 reviews
"red deer"
in 38 reviews
"fantastic evening"
in 11 reviews
"roe"
in 11 reviews
"informative guide"
in 9 reviews
"windy night"
in 3 reviews
"great sightings"
in 2 reviews
"gets dark"
in 3 reviews
"turned up"
in 4 reviews
"uneven ground"
in 2 reviews
"great photo opportunities"
in 3 reviews
"amazing opportunity"
in 2 reviews
"close quarters"
in 3 reviews
"mountain hare"
in 4 reviews
"birds including"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic experience"
in 5 reviews
Filter

104 - 108 of 174 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Despite a cold and windy night we saw 2 badgers, a young pine martin, a herd of deer and a few mice. The hide is comfortable and warm. A lovely supper at One Pot Borrowed
Rothiemurchus Centre,Inverdruie, completed a great visit.

1  Thank TTufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

It's lovely to hear that you had such a great visit to our hide and that Pine Marten and Badger put in an appearance! Thank you very much for posting your review - we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hide is excellent for the novice or experienced wildlife watcher. Set in the heart of The Rothiemerchus estate. I have visited the hide twice and have seen badgers on both occasions, deer, pine marten and wood mice. The only negative is that although there are spotlights to light the animals for the photographer the lights are not sufficient for good photographs. flash, for obvious reasons is not permitted.

Thank Nigel1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hi Nigel - thank you very much for posting your review and we really appreciate you taking the time to do so. Despite your reservations about enough light for photography, that's a great shot of the Badger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were very fortunate that when we arrived at the hide a badger showed up straight away, followed by a pine martin, then awhile later after they had left two more badgers turned up and another pine martin. Awesome. Bonus was when driving home we saw a badger cross the road.

Thank pazDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

It's always good to hear visitors' experiences at our hide and we're delighted that you had such a great evening! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit - we really appreciate it! And we'd love to see any photos you're happy to share from the evening :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We've been a few times now to the hide. There's only been one year where we saw nothing at all and that was down to the weather, where is was heavy rain and high winds. Just the luck of the draw. Every other time, including this last Oct 13 visit, we saw Pine Marten, Badger and Deer. Wonderful. Probably the only way to be lucky enough to see pine marten in the wild. Thoroughly recommend it.

Thank se2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpeysideWildlife, Owner at Speyside Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

It's lovely to hear that you had another good evening at the hide and thank you for reviewing your visit - we really appreciate it! Hope you managed to take a few photos - we'd love to see them if you're happy to share them, either here, on our Facebook page or by emailing them to us.

Hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speyside Wildlife also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Speyside Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing