We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Range - High Value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Range Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
High Range Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“High Range - High Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd stay in the High Range and I still cannot find anything to find fault with. I was greeted well at Reception and directed towards my room even though they knew I had stayed before. Our room was spotless and the linens brilliant white. We noticed new paintings in the room and hall which were very bright and cheerful and I wish I had a shower as powerful at home as the one in our room. We love it and will not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaddingtonJinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    111
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
88
166
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

It was very interesting to read the "knight in shining.." review so i'm thinking the chap who was at reception was perhaps having an off day. We arrived from Ulapool at 12 noon, an early morning ferry ride from the Outer Hebrides so looking forward to a nice shower and expecting a warm Highland welcome like all the others we had experienced. The man at reception took time to look up from his computer. We waited. We attempted to engage in a little repartee - it didn't happen. We listened. The words efficient and business like spring to mind but not warm, friendly or welcoming. Then the showers - closed for 3 hours from 12 - 3pm. Ouch! I understand cleaning is essential but if the caravan club can do a 45 - 60 min closure, is a 3 hour shut down necessary?When i did get a shower it was very spacious and clean but what is with the set temperature? It was hot and humid outside and the last thing we needed was a hot shower. I needed another one after getting dried and dressed! My young daughter couldn't tolerate it at all so she had to have one in the motorhome. The site is just off the busy A9 road but unfortunately, so was our pitch. My husband is a light sleeper so lets say that he didn't have a restful night or a long lie. The dog was also offended by the "keep dogs on a SHORT lead" sign. There did not appear to be a motorhome grey waste disposal point??? There was only one fresh water tap situated up a steep hill away from the touring pitches. My cousin stayed in the motel and was greeted warmly by a young girl at reception (wish she'd been there when we arrived!).The family room was spacious, modern and very clean. They had a lovely stay with the exception of the fold down sofa which was lumpier than my aunt Louise's custard. Thank goodness for the great family friendly restaurant "La Taverna" affiliated to the site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have just got back from staying here for 1 night with my partner and our 2 year old daughter. It was lovely! Quick into our room and the room was lovely and spacious. It was very quiet and set in a lovely location and the rooms were pretty much spotless. Only wish we'd stayed longer than the one night! I would highly recommend staying here and will definitely be coming back again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutchie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

campervan broke down towed onto High Range campsite.
we were very worried because campervan was unmoveable.
Robbin in charge of site made us very welcome showing us all facilities and how to use them
if we required anything he would help us
We have never had such a friendly welcome.
it took all the pressure off us worrying about campervan.
We enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to our next visit.
thanks the Carmichaels from Hawick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights,accomodation spacious,quiet and spotless. Very modern (recently done i think) there was lots of effort put in and excellent value for money - highly recommended would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lillytu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have stayed twice at the High Range Motel - both times when doing off-road cycle trips which necessitated a stopover in Aviemore. The accommodation is first class for what it is - friendly reception staff, a spacious clean room with nice linen, additional seating and a brilliant shower. A perfect base to re-group and venture into town for a bite of supper or visit the adjacent pizzeria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calum840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This lodge is based on Premier Inn/ Travel Lodge but on a more expensive interior. It was a birthday gift and was a great stay, friendly staff, clean accommodation and excellent facilities in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Hotel

Property: High Range Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — High Range Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly completed, on the site of the old Motel chalets, this splendid 20 bedroom Motel building contains a selection of outstanding rooms, Double, Twin, Family, Superior and a specially designed and well appointed double room for the disabled. Each spacious bedroom is en-suite and are furnished to a very high standard providing all that is necessary for your comfort, every room has wall mounted LCD Panel Television, DVD player, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities as standard. The Family rooms either twin or double beds with a sofa bed; each room will accommodate very comfortably 2 adults and 2 children sharing a sofa bed.Superior rooms have extra quality furnishings, ensures they are both spacious and gracious, with lovely views from the sitting areas. These bedrooms also have a trouser press and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your High Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Range Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing