We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, cosy and worth a visit”
Review of High Range Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Range Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Comfortable, cosy and worth a visit”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just back from a weekend stay at the high range, it was clean, comfortable and definitely worth a visit!! The rooms were a great size! Beds were comfy! La taverna on site seemed very popular, we didnt stay for food but had a few drinks there on arrival!! Reasonable prices and the place was packed out later in the evening which is always a good advertisement!

Will definitely be making s booking in through to aviemore again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    122
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
96
178
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

High standard always. Very reasonably priced. Very comfy. Very Clean. Room at the end of the building - brilliant shower pressure. We will be back. Did not try the Italian resaurant but it was very busy - even though Sunday night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Great place got a great £60 deal for one night. Place still fresh and very clean rooms warm and welcoming after a day in the hills. No baths just shower which is very strong and hot. Now have free wifi in test which I was happy mot try and did the job for planning next walk. Check out is strictly by 10am which js good because its gets you up and making the most if the day. No hesitation in staying here again or recommending others

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gordonm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked up three rooms for a family weekend away. (Husky Racing Weekend) We were delighted with the high standard of the rooms,clean, tidy and a good shower. Very friendly staff made us feel at home and could not have been more helpful.
Although the snow was thick outside and temperature was well below zero I still had to turn down the heating in my room. It was also nice to have a kettle with tea and coffee available in the room. Car parking was really close with great access, wheelchair or in our case heavy suitcase. Only downer was the local police who followed us from the Coylumbridge Hotel right back to the High Range carpark and asked me to take a breath test which they never carried out anyway.The experience frightened my youngest grandchild as she thought grandpa was going to get taken away. Hope to return again in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KataloyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 18th January before going snowboarding the next day.
Lovely rooms that are very big in size, veryyy clean, cosy and comfortable. Has everything you need for a short stay.
The restaurant La Taverna is a minute walk from room which is very handy when you don't want to go too far. Price very fair and portions are large would recommend a starter and only a half portion for main meal if not a big eater however the waitress was very good at point this out to me.
The only issues we had was that we had to be on the mountain for half 8 and there was nowhere to have breakfast that was open this early however the canteen on the mountain is open approximately 9am.
Very close to the mountain. Hotel is right a the bottom to enter it and is approximately 10 miles from the top soo it took us about 20 minutes due to snow- roads very well cleared though.
Would recommend to anyone who asks! and would definately stay again. Price very fair!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn-Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgth
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for the 3 days up to the 2nd January 13, our first experience was the elderly gentleman on reception he could not have been any more pleasant and helpful. We had room 12 very lovely large bed bathroom with shower fantastic, clean soft towels, room was clean and comfortable. warm as well there was also a sofa and table at the window.

Room Tip: room 12 large and comfortable, with large screen tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The place is perfect to stay at this price. Very neat and clean, right in the city center. The only thing missing was breakfast. The restaurant La Taverna was closed for a month so we had to go out to have breakfast !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank aanchal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,285 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
6.8 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Hotel

Property: High Range Hotel
Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — High Range Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly completed, on the site of the old Motel chalets, this splendid 20 bedroom Motel building contains a selection of outstanding rooms, Double, Twin, Family, Superior and a specially designed and well appointed double room for the disabled. Each spacious bedroom is en-suite and are furnished to a very high standard providing all that is necessary for your comfort, every room has wall mounted LCD Panel Television, DVD player, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities as standard. The Family rooms either twin or double beds with a sofa bed; each room will accommodate very comfortably 2 adults and 2 children sharing a sofa bed.Superior rooms have extra quality furnishings, ensures they are both spacious and gracious, with lovely views from the sitting areas. These bedrooms also have a trouser press and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your High Range Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Range Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing