We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden heaven”
Review of Mountain Cafe

Mountain Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We use some of Scotland's best local produce to create healthy, wholesome & interesting food with a Kiwi twist. We opened our doors in 2004 and have been gaining awards and accolades for our antipodean style coffees, delicious breakfasts, superb lunches & fresh home baking ever since. Our service is friendly & casual with a professional team from all over the world. The café offers excellent views of the Cairngorm Mountains - enjoy our balcony area during summer and the cosy log burner to sit by during the winter months. All the pictures are of our food - why not come in and sample our hospitality when you are in the area next?
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden heaven”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Located above an outdoor clothing shop off the high street, don't be put off if you have to queue for a wee while as I'm sure you will have forgotten about the wait when your tucking into your meal, everything is fresh and tasty, for those of you with a sweet tooth you won't be disappointed by the huge selection of home baked cakes on offer. The only problem you'll have is when to say Enough!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyWebb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    299
    98
    45
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had lunch at the Mountain Café and, to be honest, it was fairly average. We didn`t have to queue for a seat so that was good. My husband had a burger which he enjoyed and, I must admit, I enjoyed the few chips which I snaffled from his plate. I chose the Grilled Med Veg Panini but was very disappointed. The only veg in it was aubergine (which I`m not keen on) and red onion. There was a pile of salad which was ok. All in all not much taste about it. The floor needed a good sweep and the girl behind the counter was emptying a tray (I think from the coffee machine) into a filthy bin. The toilets weren`t great either and there was a very dodgy looking can of air freshener covered in what I can only hope was chocolate ..!! Not sure that I would go back but, having said that, the place was busy so it`s obviously popular.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StickyToffeeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gluten free gets a thumbs up”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

always popular ( several visits) there is usually a queue to get in at busy times

great food and great gluten free cakes - what more could I ask?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Digital-Finger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great start to any day”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate breakfast here nearly every morning of our vacation in Aviemore. You have your choice from scones to full English breakfast. The staff was very friendly and, everything we ordered was tasty. Definitely would recommend. You can't go wrong with anything you order.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could do with being twice the size”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great place, great food, good service, just wish it was twice the size as the place does feel a little crowded at times and you often have to wait for a seat. This can often make you feel like you have to rush yourselves to make space for someone else.

Would definitely be back though, the food is not to be missed, probably some of the best in Aviemore and the cakes are knock your socks off good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EveandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Cafe also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing