We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab u lous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Cafe

Mountain Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We use some of Scotland's best local produce to create healthy, wholesome & interesting food with a Kiwi twist. We opened our doors in 2004 and have been gaining awards and accolades for our antipodean style coffees, delicious breakfasts, superb lunches & fresh home baking ever since. Our service is friendly & casual with a professional team from all over the world. The café offers excellent views of the Cairngorm Mountains - enjoy our balcony area during summer and the cosy log burner to sit by during the winter months. All the pictures are of our food - why not come in and sample our hospitality when you are in the area next?
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab u lous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I love this place! Great views and great food. Would highly recommend the veggie burger and the Cullen skink - only problem is the portions are so big I can never manage the cakes afterwards.....just as well they do takeaways too :))
Be prepared to queue at lunchtime though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank droidfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    292
    96
    43
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cakes to die for and the best salad I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I visited here twice in may 2013 with my hubby after cycling from Ballater over lecht to aviemore. So each time I arrived ravenous!! The cakes and breads are all made on site and the only complaint is that I wanted one of everything!!

I had the most amazing chicken and butternut salad. The nicest salad I have had. The dressing was fab. On my earlier visit I had a baked potato with smoked salmon which was equally delicious. Hubby had a salmon noodle salad which was super. On his second visit he had soup which was very hearty and tasty.

My only complaint is that when it gets busy people queue on the stairs and the staff don't necessarily know they are there! Service can be slightly slow at busy times but it is clear all orders are cooked fresh so it is worth the wait. Good kids menu and plenty of high chairs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadsturnheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing home bakes and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stopped in Aviemore for a late lunch yesterday and decided to try Mountain Cafe based on the trip advisor reviews. It did not disappoint. We had to wait 10 minute for a table at 3.30pm which goes to show how popular it is. Unfortunately my first choice of quiche of the day was finished (again not surprising given the time) so I opted for the warm sweet potato, olive and feta salad served with home baked bread. It was divine. So much so I took a picture of my plate in the hope that I can recreate it at home! My boyfriend went for the steak sandwich served with homemade chips and salad and that was also very good. We finished off with delicious scones and coffees. Service was friendly and prompt and there was a nice view over to the Cairngorms from our seat by the window. When paying at the end of our trip we got to view the full selection of home bakes, it then took all of our self control not to buy a few samples. There was also a range of Mountain Cafe produced preserves and sauces on sale which looked good. All on all a lovely visit and I would highly recommend to anyone passing through.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charliestar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“"Slow unpleasant.... could you call it service....no I don't think you can"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I have visited the Mountain Cafe many times over the past few years, when we first visited we raved about it but then we found it went down hill somewhat and so did not visit for quite sometime. We tried it again possibly about a year ago and it was good although not what it once was in my opinion. Anyway, we stopped off recently, this time just to pick up a couple of coffees & cakes. There was no queue, we got straight in, no waitress acknowledged us initially and there were plenty of them going about, the restaurant was quieter than usual and so they were not rushed. I asked one if they did coffee to take away which she informed they did... but she walked away. Anyway not deterred we stood beside the area that the coffee machine was and I was astounded at how long we were ignored with no eye contact at all. Finally, a rather abrupt waitress did take our order........ we stood for over 20 minutes (personally I would've walked out but hubby was desperate for something to eat and drink), in all that time the waitress never said there was a problem at all, if she had just said sorry there will be a delay for whatever reason I would have understood. To me it was terrible service and I won't be back. Also, whilst waiting I rushed to the ladies (no need to rush!) and have to say they were not fresh or clean.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Toonser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Fantastic food, well priced, huge selection, what more can you ask for?
If ever we are in the area we have to visit. Delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cakesbycathyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Cafe also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing