We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Several lunches all great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Cafe

Mountain Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We use some of Scotland's best local produce to create healthy, wholesome & interesting food with a Kiwi twist. We opened our doors in 2004 and have been gaining awards and accolades for our antipodean style coffees, delicious breakfasts, superb lunches & fresh home baking ever since. Our service is friendly & casual with a professional team from all over the world. The café offers excellent views of the Cairngorm Mountains - enjoy our balcony area during summer and the cosy log burner to sit by during the winter months. All the pictures are of our food - why not come in and sample our hospitality when you are in the area next?
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Several lunches all great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This cafe is always busy, so don't be put off queueing down the stairs for a table. The food is good and the staffing level is also usually good. Kids have a healthy choice and the menu is excellent and the cakes always look good - I just can't afford to try them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquibaggaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    296
    96
    44
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food but the wait is a killer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Food at the mountain cafe is always great. It's popularity is now a problem and being left standing on the stairs for over an hour to get a table spoilt the whole experience. Some que management or book in time is now overdue,

Helpful?
1 Thank GoGetalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten G, Owner at Mountain Cafe, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are sorry that queuing on the stairs for a table put a damper on your experience. This is something that is completely out of our control. Due to the nature of the building we rent we have no other area for people to wait for a table. We do not force people to queue & it is peoples decision to do so. We are delighted when people want to wait for a table and we do everything we can to get folks seated as soon as possible. We will not however rush customers once they are seated in the cafe, as this is their time to relax and enjoy what we have on offer. We do have a system in place for queueing & seating folks and trying to reduce the queue, but we will not force people to rush. We do not take bookings as we did this in the past & it caused more issues with folks either not turning up, being late or upsetting people in the queue. We really do take our customer care seriously and as I am sure you can appreciate it can be incredibly difficult keeping people happy when they are waiting. There are some days we have a queue from first thing in the morning till we close & we can turn the tables up to 7 times on those days. We are just a small 48 seat cafe trying to give customers the best we can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gairloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Luckily we got here at the right time and there was a table available. Had a lovely breakfast as well as an amazing spiced hot chocolate (I went and bought a packet of this from their counter after I realised how yummy it was). Service was fast (despite being told it would be slow as they were busy) and everything was clean. Staff were really friendly as well. Loved the decor and view from our seats by the window. Would definitely return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopardy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I come here for breakfast every time I'm in Aviemore and every time it's fantastic.

The breakfasts are great, as are the salads and the cakes are to die for!

The coffee is proper kiwi coffee, clean and fresh. The service is with a smile.

Can't fault the place - will certainly be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samnevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food is out of this world and there is an amazing variety to choose from. The staff are welcoming. Highly recommend.....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amydb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Cafe also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing