We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheery with nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mackenzies Highland Inn
Ranked #26 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We visited Mackenzies Highland Inn this summer for a 2 night stay while discovering the area. Amenities are basic as expected for a budget stay, and a nice clean room. The bar has a good selection of beers, and advertised themed food nights every week. Although we didn't find time to sample any, we did have a beer or 2 served in welcoming surroundings. If breakfast was anything to go by, the meal selection will be a definite to sample on our next visit. A great wee place in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 289 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Me and my son stayed here for 3 nights and thought the value for money was outstanding. The breakfast was always spot on with a good choice. The bar is one of the best stocked bars I've ever seen. Staff were friendly and helpful. They do meal deals on weekday nights. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank hobmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in Feb for skiing. Price was £20 pp including breakfast. This place is a good find if you want a cheap hotel in a good location. Room was OK, a bit cramped, good TV, and the bed was large and comfy. Breakfast was great and staff were friendly. Worst thing was the bathroom, probably, which does function but really needs updating.
I will definitely book again. You do get what you pay for, sure, but this will suit anyone wanting cheap clean accommodation in central Aviemore and a good breakfast.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alison1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Having read some reviews we were a bit worried about what we were letting oursleves in for but we need not have been! We stayed in a 4 bed dormitory with a private bathroom - hostel style. The room was basic but very clean and had extra stuff not usually included in a bunk room (toiletries, tea-making facilites with shortbread biscuits and an abundance of tea and coffee :) a range of towels and a television).

We paid a very low price which included breakfast and this was absolutely delicious and very filling! Infact I cannot fault the food and would recommend the Mackenzies Inn for this reason alone!! We ate there the first night after a long day travelling, and didn't eat in another restaurant for our entire stay because the food was so good! All the meals were exceptionally reasonably priced and the bar is well stocked with something to suit everyone. The staff were also very friendly and happy to help which made our stay comfortable and homely.

Location is right in the centre of town, 3 minutes from the train station and bus link.

I cannot comment on the other room types, but considering we stayed in the cheapest room available I can't think that they would be any less than what I have mentioned above. The only thing I would say is that if you are looking for a quiet evening on a Sunday, please be aware that there is Karaoke and it can be quite loud (but it was a good laugh!).

Would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for somewhere cheap and friendly which serves food not out of place at a high end restaurant!

Room Tip: Rooms 6 7 8 are away from the bar and therefore quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_blonde_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews was a bit wary of what we were booking ,hotel is not 5 star and doesn't claim to be if you are wanting a fancy hotel then go pay the prices ! This hotel is cheap, excellent base , excellent food ,hearty full English breakfast to set you on your way !
Rooms bit tired but let's face it your not there to stay in your room . Staff were very nice and helpful and food was massive portions and very reasonable priced .
Would I stay here again ? Definitely for the money for 2 adults and one child ! For 2 nights ,I would have spent double for one night ! Great wee hotel ,thanks again to all the staff x

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loueyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

nothing wrong with this hotel at all. rooms clean and tidy and adequate for a few nights stay. Toilet and shower area clean and the breakfast was excellent. couldn't have done or brought you enough. Location perfect for shops/pubs and train station. Would definitely stay there again when returning. Cannot comment on the bar/restaurant/entertainment as we didn't stay and socialize in it. On our arrival when we asked for vodka we were given a brand which we had never heard of. Didn't even taste of vodka to us. Bar Staff's comment as that it was vodka and more or less drink it or leave it. So we left it and never drank in there the rest of the weekend. Loads of other pubs nearby to drink in which sold proper Smirnoff vodka or a decent brand

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gail b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A HUGE thank you to all members of staff for making our stay special!!! After reading few awful comments some customers posted in the past I must admit I was a bit concerned....and now i know that i had absolutely no reason to worry!
When we arrived we have been welcomed promptly and within seconds we had keys to our room. And now the message to those who complained about the rooms: people! You paid pennies (literally pennies!) for B&B with amazing hospitality and delicious breakfasts - so do not expect 5 star quality and a decor of a middle-age castle!It's a typical Highland Inn and what you need during winter holidays is a comfortable and clean bed, hot water on taps and heating radiator adjustable to your preferences. And you have nothing else to wish for if the personnel & food is great too ! Therefore please please please ! do not care for the wall paper colour?!?!?!?

And now the best thing of all: the music !!! oh Barmen!!! - we will be back and we will bring an army of good travelers who will definitely appreciate all your efforts !! wish you all the best and more happy trip advisor comments!
PS: please try their special breakfast croissant with scramble egg, spinach and goats' cheese! YUM YUM YUMMY! and for the dinner - any of their FAB burgers - and I dare you: try to eat everything they will serve on your plate!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3ma_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#10 of 29 in Aviemore
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#13 of 29 in Aviemore
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzies Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzies Highland Inn

Address: 125 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range: $49 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzies Highland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contepory Scottish Inn serving fine fayre, great grog and highland hospitality. Come join the Clan!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mackenzies Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Highland Inn Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing