We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mackenzies Highland Inn
Ranked #26 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stopped by for a late lunch with friends. Menu has a good selection and there is also a specials board with a selection of main courses for £5. Had a Mackenzies sharing platter for 2 @ £10. In a word - fantastic. Friends had filled rolls of pulled pork with melted cheese and red onion - looked tasty and we were informed, were very tasty. No hesitation in recommending this place. Food good, service good ans all reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TazAviemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 289 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went here with my wife, we where drawn in by 2 meals for £10 which is very good. I was not expecting much but I was surprised when my burger game out, the portion size was very good and it tasted great! My only complaint would be that they forgot to put the pasta in my wife's pasta bake but I think is was a genuine mistake and over all the food was good and I would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mickey87123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. There was a slight problem with our room that was handled extremely professionally and I can honestly say that I think the customer service skills of all staff at McKenzies is exemplary. The food is amazing and very reasonably priced. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hipster4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent one night here, on way to Elgin. Hotel is in need of some TLC, rooms were clean and had everything needed but were rather shabby. Shower was tiny with an electric shower that had very little pressure. Had dinner which was excellent, no complaints. waitress at night was a bit dour and harassed but at breakfast we had a lovely breakfast served by a smiling lady who was ever so helpful. Entertainment on Friday night was excellent, a guy playing guitar and singing, asking for requests, he managed to play most of the songs requested.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekender21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Gourmet burger and a pint ( or wine or soft drink ) £8.50 - we all had burgers , they were delicious , it's free pool until 5 pm and they let us play on a bit after that. Loved the sunken hammocks in the garden . Great value for money .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovemyholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Poor all round, breakfast horrible, greasy - I could not eat much of it, toilet floor wet, some sort of leak.

Kettle would not switch off, scalded my hand when I went near the on/off switch.

Gardens full of weeds, generally uncared for.

I am embarrassed, being a Scot, that this sort of place is serving up for our tourists...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I booked 2 rooms at this place for 2 nights after reading the reviews and stupidly believing the one which said " Don't believe the negative reviews- some people are just grumpy". Sometimes that's true and I was prepared to give it a chance. What a mistake- Yes the place is 'Tired' - no provision to hang wet towels or clothes in the bathroom, a double bed which is tight to the wall for half its length,wallpaper peeling off the walls,breakfast which was sodden with grease. All that I could have lived with but we booked the rooms in order to sleep in them and that was not possible until the live music ended at 12.36am. We turned in at 10.30pm tired from travelling and could not believe how loud the music was. We kept thinking ok it will stop at 11pm, 11.30, 12.00 and 12.30. Just as I was about to dress to sort things out the live music stopped and recorded music played for another 15 minutes.
The next morning we checked out , wrestled a refund of the second night from the manager ( could that explain why he needed payment in full the night before?) and moved further along the street where the food quality was better , the rooms were as hotel rooms should be and their live music could not be heard in the rooms.
Best of all, the manager was totally indignant, never once did he apologise. The refund only came more promptly when I pointed out that his manner could cause things to become nasty if it continued.
I must question the positive reviews - yes people have different standards and expectations but folks I have travelled around Scotland : Perthshire, Fort William , Skye, Harris and Lewis a lot during the past 2 weeks and it is easily possible to get much better quality than this place for the same outlay or even less.

Room Tip: Try other hotels to the left or right of this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJCX500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#10 of 29 in Aviemore
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#13 of 29 in Aviemore
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzies Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzies Highland Inn

Address: 125 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range: $49 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzies Highland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contepory Scottish Inn serving fine fayre, great grog and highland hospitality. Come join the Clan!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mackenzies Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Highland Inn Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing