We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe the positive reviews!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mackenzies Highland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mackenzies Highland Inn
Ranked #28 of 31 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't believe the positive reviews!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I booked 2 rooms at this place for 2 nights after reading the reviews and stupidly believing the one which said " Don't believe the negative reviews- some people are just grumpy". Sometimes that's true and I was prepared to give it a chance. What a mistake- Yes the place is 'Tired' - no provision to hang wet towels or clothes in the bathroom, a double bed which is tight to the wall for half its length,wallpaper peeling off the walls,breakfast which was sodden with grease. All that I could have lived with but we booked the rooms in order to sleep in them and that was not possible until the live music ended at 12.36am. We turned in at 10.30pm tired from travelling and could not believe how loud the music was. We kept thinking ok it will stop at 11pm, 11.30, 12.00 and 12.30. Just as I was about to dress to sort things out the live music stopped and recorded music played for another 15 minutes.
The next morning we checked out , wrestled a refund of the second night from the manager ( could that explain why he needed payment in full the night before?) and moved further along the street where the food quality was better , the rooms were as hotel rooms should be and their live music could not be heard in the rooms.
Best of all, the manager was totally indignant, never once did he apologise. The refund only came more promptly when I pointed out that his manner could cause things to become nasty if it continued.
I must question the positive reviews - yes people have different standards and expectations but folks I have travelled around Scotland : Perthshire, Fort William , Skye, Harris and Lewis a lot during the past 2 weeks and it is easily possible to get much better quality than this place for the same outlay or even less.

Room Tip: Try other hotels to the left or right of this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJCX500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    45
    29
    83
See reviews for
47
108
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I went into the mckenzie to get out of the rain, outside it looks nice, but the interior has let them down. The barman wasnt over friendly, we had cpl of drinks and a game off pool, we noticed that there was meant to be a band playing that night, so we went down to have our tea, but the menu wasnt that exciting, and we had to wait some time for our meal. While waiting for our meal, one off their regulars I pressume was quite loud and a bit fouled mouthed which was quite off putting to hear, was so glad we didnt have one of our grandchildren with us. We left straight after our meal which was quite nice, the staff member (female) was fantastic and charming. We found out nxt day that the band didnt start til 9.30, this might be quite late for some, we would have stayed but foul, loud mouthed punter put us off, shame really

Room Tip: Didnt stay here, only dined
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rennie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Basic accommodation, clean, comfortable and pleasant friendly staff. Good choice at breakfast including a variety of savoury croissants and a huge, good quality cooked breakfast- including a potato scone- all too often an omitted item from a 'real' Scottish breakfast. Excellent value for money. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our short break here was the worst i have ever had. We only stayed one night out of the four we booked.The room was grubby,toilet was dirty,room door lock was hanging off and the heating did not operate until 9pm. Due to the condition of the place we decided to eat out ,on our return there was very loud music,singing ect.which went on until 1am it was so loud we were unable to even watch the tv. My wife and i decided to leave the next morning at 7 30am.without breakfast and would never advise anyone to stay here at any price. ps Had a wonderful breakfast at the truck stop in newtonmore on the way home D S Leslie Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsleslie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Great place for the price! Read some poor reviews before coming and was not hoping for much. Room is brilliant and it's a great friendly place! Bad reviews must be from grumpy *****s. a room in this town at that price is excellent. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

On our touring holiday through the UK we moved off the Highway into Aviemore and chose the Mackenzie Highland Inn to stay for the night. Check in was completed without fuss. Our room was on an upperfloor away from the Sunday Karaoke. The bedroom was reasonably large and spacious, but the bathroom was very small and cramped and we had to compete for space with the toilet paper dispenser when on the throne. The shower also was very small and cramped and made even smaller by the shower curtain around two sides. Routine maintainance needs to be improved and all fittings regularly serviced. The bed was soft and comfortable but there were mystery stains on the underside of the duvet. Breakfast was big and well cooked. Cereals and fruit and yoghut could be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from sound of live music
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyj837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

stayed here for one night and it will be the last night i ever spend here the bedrooms are grubby the shower door wouldnt close properly,now for the breakfast i really have to state this is worst cooked breakfast i have ever tasted,the menu never stated it would be smoked bacon which was rank,sausages black on 1 side and white on the other tomatoes burnt,soggy black pudding and haggis and burnt white of fried egg and under cooked yolk i would recommend cereal if you stay at this dive

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rep777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 31 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#13 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#4 of 9 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 26 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzies Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzies Highland Inn

Property: Mackenzies Highland Inn
Address: 125 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzies Highland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contepory Scottish Inn serving fine fayre, great grog and highland hospitality. Come join the Clan!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Mackenzies Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Highland Inn Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing