We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Dunroamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunroamin
Ranked #15 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Booked to stay some time ago after reading all the good reports. Some of our party wanted to cancel when the latest poor reports were posted, but we decided to give it the benifit of the doubt and I am so glad we did!

The bedrooms and bathrooms are nicely presented, inviting clean and warm. Breakfast had a buffet of juices cereals fresh fruit and yogurt and they was a menu to chose from with cooked options as well as continental. There was also a Breakfast Special offered of smoked salmon with scrambled egg on a bagel. I did not have it but it looked fab!

The owners were friendly and helpful suggesting The Cairngorm Hotel to eat in which was great.

I think it ahould be noted that this is a 3 star Bed and Breakfast and not a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Team_Pete09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2009

Have stayed here before and it is still run by Lorraine and her husband to a very high standard. If you don't want to stay in a hotel in Aviemore then this is the place to be.
It helps if you can book ahead as accommodation in Aviemore can, at times, be difficult to find and not all places are as good and value for money as Dunroamin. Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, each with en-suite facilities, Tv, hairdryer, radio/alarm, and the essential hospitality tray for a quick cuppa. Car parking is off the road and Aviemore amenties are within easy walking distance. Breakfast is exceptionally good and well cooked by Lorriane and delivered by her husband with a happy smile.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed at Dunroamin in September with my girlfriend. We usually stay in a great B&B on the road to Cairngorm but after reading the amazing reviews of Dunroamin thought we would book it. It was a mistake...

The B&B is okay, there are no major issues but it is a very average and mediocre B&B. The earlier reviews paint a very rosy picture and I felt I should make potential guests aware that it is a run-of-the-mill B&B, certainly not a five star stay.

Room - smallish and average decor, not luxury, basic double bed.
Ensuite - seen bigger and better ones but was clean, poor shower.
Food - basic breakfast, small selection, a bit greasy, dining room not very pleasant.
Service - was okay but manager never went out her way for you/never gave you any time.

IN SUMMARY - THIS IS AN AVERAGE 3 STAR B&B - NO MAJOR PROBLEMS YET NO REAL POSITIVES - SO DON'T BOOK IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GENUINELY NICE PLACE TO STAY.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jack_daniels_whiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Beautifully presented and spacious Guest House. Excellent facilities, lovely and welcoming owners, and a cracking breakfast! Ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have just returned from our fifth visit to Dunroamin. This is the best B&B in Scotland!
Very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast. Friendly and welcoming hosts. We have already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandANottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

These guys were fantatstic - welcoming and friendly, and understanding of our 3 young kids. Breakfast was a right good stoke up - enough to get through most of the day without refuelling. The rooms were both lovely, furnished with great taste, and avoiding the usual BnB nightmare decor - we'd like them to come to our house and work some magic. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

From the moment we walked in the door we were made to feel right at home,being met and shown to our room, which had the most amazing view of the Cairngorms, by Lorraine. In the morning we were treated to a feast of a breakfast which set us up perfectly for the days walking which lay ahead. Having stayed in numerous BandB's and guesthouses around the country we would rate Dunroamin as one of the best. For comfort,friendliness,service and facilities we have been delighted and as someone who cannot stop checking on things at work the WIFI which I am currently using has been brilliant. Many thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squareeyesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
4.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#13 of 29 in Aviemore
110 reviews
0 mi away
Cairngorm Guest House
Cairngorm Guest House
#12 of 29 in Aviemore
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunroamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunroamin

Address: Craig Na Gower Avenue, Aviemore PH22 1RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range: $116 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunroamin 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunroamin is a 4 star family run quality Bed and Breakfast. Centrally situated, off the main street, in a quiet residential area, it is only five minutes walk to the shops, restaurants and bars. An ideal base for your holiday or business needs, it provides privacy with all the comforts of your own home. Breakfast options are vast and freshly cooked to order and also offering a help yourself buffet of cereals, yoghurts, pastries, fruits, cheeses and juices. Not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dunroamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunroamin Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing