We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Happy customers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Haggis

Happy Haggis
Ranked #8 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $16
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Fast Food, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hi there, We are a family run Restaurant with a takeaway serving a wide variety of classic Chip shop food along with an extensive menu in our award winning, liscensed Restaurant. We pride ourselves in excellent quality food and great service. A great place for any occassion.
Seaham harbour
Level Contributor
115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Happy customers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely find.
Smashing service, cheerful interior.
Most importantly the food was excellent value and very well presented.
Thank you very much

Helpful?
Thank Mick_and_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    67
    29
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stopped here on a Saturday night while out for a drive & were pleasantly surprised on how good the food & service was. Before leaving I asked about a small fish for our dog who had been left in the car & to my surprise I heard the waitress ask the drier if a fish on the range was spare & after being told yes she boxed it & gave it to us for free which really surprised & shocked me in this money making world we live in, will deff be back next time we are in the area

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alamo16584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little chippy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

had a great tea here at the Happy haggis. Been here several times and never had a bad experience. Always seems to be busy yet staff are always helpful and food always great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bennie1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had travelled up to the highlands from London via Edinburgh and literally found this restaurant by chance.
It's definitely 'Retro Chique' in style as it looked as though it was back in the 1970's but that's all part of the attraction as the youth of today can see how we lived way back then.
However the food was absolutely excellent along with great friendly service.
The young lady who took our order was bubbly and aimed to please.
Having said that,the food spoke volumes as it was a fabulous meal.The batter on the fish was a delight in itself.
Neither of us could fault anything.We had the large fish supper,which really was a good sized large haddock that was big fluffy and very very tasty not forgetting the home made tasting chips.
We just had to write about this hidden gem in Aviemore that took us way by surprise and I'm only sorry that living in London it's a long way to go for fish and chips as we would be regulars.
Well done Happy Haggis.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Another great meal at The Happy Haggis! The owners are always give a lovely welcome. This visit was for Grand Daughters birthday and the owners had decorated the table with balloons and banners which was very thoughtful of them. Great food, fast, but not pushy service, all round, a lovely meal was enjoyed by all. Hope it won't be long before we have an excuse to go back!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Haggis also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Happy Haggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing