We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, welcoming staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Park Guest House
Ranked #9 of 31 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Definately more of a restaurant with rooms than a hotel. However, the restaurant is great and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was a great price and was ideal as we spent most of our days out and about in Aviemore and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    77
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
51
116
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel is good vallue for money. It is clean and modern set in the middle of the village. The only complaint is the lack of power from the shower. Staff are friendly. Evening meal menu is different rather than have a seperate starter menu the bulk of the main menu are starters. Although the food is good the evening menu is not right for everybody.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Great hotel - Fraser and Karen are very welcoming and excellent hosts. Been staying here for a number of months on business and would highly recommend this hotel.
Food great, rooms clean and tidy. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIGJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have stayed at Aviemore IS on a number of occasions now, great for a last minute getaway from the busy streets of Scotland's Capital. We have eaten on too many occasions to count at IS in Edinburgh's Leith, so it was fantastic to enjoy very different surroundings with the same attention to detail when it comes to serving food.

Fraser (owner, manager) is always on hand to make sure we are being looked after and the rest of the staff were great, you can tell the place is family run, not something you get to experience on many occasions.

The Room was very pleasant and clean, we had a few drinks in the bar area before enjoying a lovely meal in the restaurant which was busy but not rushed.

Thoroughly enjoyable and will return again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmorr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for one night. The staff were friendly and attentive. The room (number 11) was small and at the back of the hotel, which was fine. However, the standard of housekeeping was poor. There were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, dust in the air (until we opened the window), a few strands of hair in the shower and lots of visible dust and hair in the corners of the bathroom. This is very off putting and it makes you wonder what else hasn't been cleaned properly. Although, I can advise that the toilet, wash basin and bed linen were clean.
The main attraction of the hotel (to us) is its location on Grampian Road, which is handy for visiting pubs and other places of interest.
Breakfast is included in the price and it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Collilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

This was our second visit to International Starters and we were delighted with the service we recieved. It is only a couple of hours from the capital and feels like a great escape from city life. Great concept for food where you get many more choices rather than one big plateful. There is nothing worse than when you see the person next to you eating something that you wished you had tried - this way you can have more of the menu without being greedy!! We stayed in room 1 which was at the front of the hotel and was very comfortable and private. The room was very well maintained and clean. Modern and well equipped without being fussy. The staff were very warm and welcoming and treated us like an old friend that was returning. Nothing was too much trouble during our evening meal or breakfast the following morning and the food was great! We were able to enjoy the relaxed surroundings of the bar long into the night. Even if you don't stay it's a must for food!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c2morrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

my husband and myself were meeting our family who were already in aviemore, we booked through latebooking staff were cheerful room clean, however when we used loo the noise was horrendous, and it went on for about 2 or three minutes, also big disappointment in shower it was just a trickle main aim was try and get wet, believe me it wasnt easy. Final night we arrived back about 9.45pm hoping for a nightcap but the restaurant and bar were all locked up "due to a technical fault".

Probably would use again but would definitely check plumbing before stopping!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank susannah175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 26 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#4 of 9 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Guest House

Property: The Park Guest House
Address: 131 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland (Formerly International Starters Restaurant & Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Starters Restaurant And Rooms
International Starters Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Aviemore
The Park Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing