We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent retreat for the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Park Guest House
Ranked #10 of 28 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This was our second visit to International Starters and we were delighted with the service we recieved. It is only a couple of hours from the capital and feels like a great escape from city life. Great concept for food where you get many more choices rather than one big plateful. There is nothing worse than when you see the person next to you eating something that you wished you had tried - this way you can have more of the menu without being greedy!! We stayed in room 1 which was at the front of the hotel and was very comfortable and private. The room was very well maintained and clean. Modern and well equipped without being fussy. The staff were very warm and welcoming and treated us like an old friend that was returning. Nothing was too much trouble during our evening meal or breakfast the following morning and the food was great! We were able to enjoy the relaxed surroundings of the bar long into the night. Even if you don't stay it's a must for food!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c2morrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

my husband and myself were meeting our family who were already in aviemore, we booked through latebooking staff were cheerful room clean, however when we used loo the noise was horrendous, and it went on for about 2 or three minutes, also big disappointment in shower it was just a trickle main aim was try and get wet, believe me it wasnt easy. Final night we arrived back about 9.45pm hoping for a nightcap but the restaurant and bar were all locked up "due to a technical fault".

Probably would use again but would definitely check plumbing before stopping!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank susannah175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at International restaurant and rooms for a weekend getaway in September. When we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in Room 1 at the front of the building which was very quiet, clean and private. Fraser, the manager, went out of his way to make sure we had a lovely stay. We ate in the restaurant at night and thoroughly enjoyed everything we tried. The restaurant was great value too! Breakfast was very tasty and set you up for the day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Aviemore.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed overnight at the hotel to take full adavntage of the snow in Aviemore. Our room was clean and adequate, although the bathroom was small and the plumbing was obviously in need of an overhaul - the water pressure was poor, the shower failed to drain properly and when you flushed the toilet the sink gurgled. The window in the bedroom had a venetian blind which proved totally useless at keeping any light at bay. The breakfast was tiny and very limited. But the worst thing was the service - the members of staff both on reception and the waiting staff were sullen and moody. We were made to feel quite uncomfortable, as if we were disturbing them and intruding on their time. Even the simple task of what we would like for breakfast was muttered, like being served by a stroppy teenager. not one of the staff smiled at any time. A shame - the hotel itself is fine, but the management desperately need to train their staff in customer care.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haveagogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The staff were all very pleasant, polite and attentive. We had a nicely decorated, bright, airy room at the front of the property. The bathroom was very clean and modern. The breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty, although there was a limited choice of continental breakfast options.

This is a great location for enjoying the sights, restaurants and bars. Roo's Leap always proves a winning choice for a great burger. The Indian restaurant gets really busy so best to go early. You'll find a good choice of live music venues such as Cairngorm hotel, great accordian and fiddle duo on a Saturday night. The Rothiemurcus Estate offers a great choice of outdoor activities, walks etc, there's a lovely farm shop and restaurant with fab home-made cakes, which is definitely worth a visit. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc0ttyD0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed over the Easter weekend (room 4) and found the hotel location really good for our snow sport holiday to the Caringorm Mtn Range. Fantastic hotel service and great modern decor and facilities. We got a better price booking online than phoning up so that my best tip :o) .

The staff was excellent! Can’t find fault in the service apart from a few hiccups with housekeeping (dirty spoons left in the sink, but very apologetic reception, replaced spoons and apologised – looked like housekeeping were interrupted mid tidy up to be honest).

Bed was very VERY squeaky and bit ‘worn in’ mattress, which would have bothered us if we weren’t so tired from Snowboarding we fell asleep ASAP! Small piece missing from the wooden slat blind which annoyed me (not my partner though) as it left a little light through. These are both minor faults and didn’t bother us that much in comparison to...
Mainly and annoyingly major faults was that Room 4 is over the restaurant toilets so you can hear the hand dryer going every 10mins and the walls are paper thin, so the chatter of your neighbouring rooms can be quite loud (especially when they play with the old fashioned alarm clock that is provided in the room!). My biggest fault is the lack of wardrobe. The wardrobe provided was a built in VERY small, 1 foot deep, cupboard with rail pointing into the space, not across it. We couldn’t hang up any of our wet snowboarding gear or nice clothes which meant the room got very cluttered very quickly and we resorted to hanging the great on the backs of doors and door frames . Not sure if other rooms had proper wardrobes, but ours didn’t.

Our room was very clean, great tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and good size bathroom (we had a queen sized room) and the breakfast was excellent (small scale buffet breakfast on par with premier inn type buffet) – couldn’t ask for more! They even gave us a small jug of milk so we could make our Thermos up for our trips!
We would stay there again as it was walking distance to the main high street, great location to mountain (20min car journey like any hotel in Aviemore) and the staff were superb!

My main point to note and we won’t be repeating if we stay again is don’t eat in the restaurant on the evening. You get 10% off for being a resident in the hotel, but it isn’t value for money and the food isn’t that special in my opinion (the fish and chip dish had 3 nugget size pieces of fish and a small jacket potato size portion of chips for £6!!) – you are looking at spending £50 easily for 2 for a good meal even with the discount! Go to the Indian (next the Aussie pub, or the Italian/Pizzeria (massive all you can eat buffet for £12 in the evening) at the main roundabout into Aviemore – better value for money and great portions if your starving after a hard days snow sports!)

p.s... parking is limited on an evening due to the restaurant being popular – so we ended up parking twice in disabled parking with the approval of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyaec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed at International Starters for an overnight. We were given a twin room to the rear of the property (no 10). The room was modern and very clean but small and we soon discovered that the walls are paper thin. We could hear every word of the conversation the people were having next door even when they came back at 01:30 am and also their singing in the shower at 07:30am. I think maybe the rooms at the front would be less noisey. We paid £75 and i would say this is a bit overpriced for this particular room. Breakfast was quite good, my hubby loved his (poached egg and haggis). This hotel is in a good location and has parking. It is also nice and warm at night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejean81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
4.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#13 of 28 in Aviemore
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Guest House

Address: 131 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland (Formerly International Starters Restaurant & Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range: $92 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Guest House is a friendly family run local business offering top quality bed and breakfast accommodation a few minutes walk from the centre of Aviemore. Free parking, Wifi and bicycle storage facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Starters Restaurant And Rooms
International Starters Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Aviemore
The Park Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing