We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, nice and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Park Guest House
Ranked #9 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value, nice and friendly”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The staff were all very pleasant, polite and attentive. We had a nicely decorated, bright, airy room at the front of the property. The bathroom was very clean and modern. The breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty, although there was a limited choice of continental breakfast options.

This is a great location for enjoying the sights, restaurants and bars. Roo's Leap always proves a winning choice for a great burger. The Indian restaurant gets really busy so best to go early. You'll find a good choice of live music venues such as Cairngorm hotel, great accordian and fiddle duo on a Saturday night. The Rothiemurcus Estate offers a great choice of outdoor activities, walks etc, there's a lovely farm shop and restaurant with fab home-made cakes, which is definitely worth a visit. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0ttyD0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    79
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
54
123
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish in Darlington, UK
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed over the Easter weekend (room 4) and found the hotel location really good for our snow sport holiday to the Caringorm Mtn Range. Fantastic hotel service and great modern decor and facilities. We got a better price booking online than phoning up so that my best tip :o) .

The staff was excellent! Can’t find fault in the service apart from a few hiccups with housekeeping (dirty spoons left in the sink, but very apologetic reception, replaced spoons and apologised – looked like housekeeping were interrupted mid tidy up to be honest).

Bed was very VERY squeaky and bit ‘worn in’ mattress, which would have bothered us if we weren’t so tired from Snowboarding we fell asleep ASAP! Small piece missing from the wooden slat blind which annoyed me (not my partner though) as it left a little light through. These are both minor faults and didn’t bother us that much in comparison to...
Mainly and annoyingly major faults was that Room 4 is over the restaurant toilets so you can hear the hand dryer going every 10mins and the walls are paper thin, so the chatter of your neighbouring rooms can be quite loud (especially when they play with the old fashioned alarm clock that is provided in the room!). My biggest fault is the lack of wardrobe. The wardrobe provided was a built in VERY small, 1 foot deep, cupboard with rail pointing into the space, not across it. We couldn’t hang up any of our wet snowboarding gear or nice clothes which meant the room got very cluttered very quickly and we resorted to hanging the great on the backs of doors and door frames . Not sure if other rooms had proper wardrobes, but ours didn’t.

Our room was very clean, great tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and good size bathroom (we had a queen sized room) and the breakfast was excellent (small scale buffet breakfast on par with premier inn type buffet) – couldn’t ask for more! They even gave us a small jug of milk so we could make our Thermos up for our trips!
We would stay there again as it was walking distance to the main high street, great location to mountain (20min car journey like any hotel in Aviemore) and the staff were superb!

My main point to note and we won’t be repeating if we stay again is don’t eat in the restaurant on the evening. You get 10% off for being a resident in the hotel, but it isn’t value for money and the food isn’t that special in my opinion (the fish and chip dish had 3 nugget size pieces of fish and a small jacket potato size portion of chips for £6!!) – you are looking at spending £50 easily for 2 for a good meal even with the discount! Go to the Indian (next the Aussie pub, or the Italian/Pizzeria (massive all you can eat buffet for £12 in the evening) at the main roundabout into Aviemore – better value for money and great portions if your starving after a hard days snow sports!)

p.s... parking is limited on an evening due to the restaurant being popular – so we ended up parking twice in disabled parking with the approval of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyaec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed at International Starters for an overnight. We were given a twin room to the rear of the property (no 10). The room was modern and very clean but small and we soon discovered that the walls are paper thin. We could hear every word of the conversation the people were having next door even when they came back at 01:30 am and also their singing in the shower at 07:30am. I think maybe the rooms at the front would be less noisey. We paid £75 and i would say this is a bit overpriced for this particular room. Breakfast was quite good, my hubby loved his (poached egg and haggis). This hotel is in a good location and has parking. It is also nice and warm at night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejean81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth & kinross
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Friendly and welcoming staff. Lovely large room - warm with clean bathroom. Breakfasts excellent and evening meal in restaurant was very good value with great service. If we get the chance we will be back for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Ate in the restaurant on last visit to Aviemore and loved it and so this time decided to stay at IS, ate in restaurant and again food was FANTASTIC. The room was small and basic , bathroom could have been cleaner but wasn't bad, would stay here again. Breakfast was disappointing though, ordered bacon and scrambled egg - didn't eat either!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pluckyducky393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Booked this hotel for a quick weekend ski-ing...it's right in the middle of Aviemore.
Booking started great - last check in was 10pm and we would get there at 1am...not a problem - the live in chef would let us in...and he did! Nothing a problem for any of the staff. On entering there's a lovely hall and staircase...for the price we were really worried that this could be a basic hotel...but no...it is great.
Great food and resonable priced Tapas in the restaurant....lots of non residents so book your table.
Amazing room - 2 separate rooms, 2 bathrooms really clean and nicely decorated, lovely and warm too when outside there was a foot of snow!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyKYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.8 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Guest House

Property: The Park Guest House
Address: 131 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland (Formerly International Starters Restaurant & Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Starters Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Aviemore
International Starters Restaurant And Rooms
The Park Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing