We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was worth it, internet woes, food is overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Park Guest House
Ranked #9 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room was worth it, internet woes, food is overpriced”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in october 2011. Aviemore is a nice and quiet town with good rail and bus connections to other scottisch attractions. Some would say it was a bit too quiet but in fairness we probably saw the town just before the skiing season was kicking off.

The staff was friendly and the room was adequate although on the small side. More importantly, it was clean. The website touts wireless internet access in the rooms but we were just out of reach of the router signal. Its a small cost to add a signal booster every few metres in your hotel and it would take away a big frustration for travellers who want to stay in contact with friends and family during their stay.

The main downside during our stay were the evening meals offered in the hotel restaurant. They were not great and awfully overpriced which resulted in us eating elsewhere for the rest of our stay.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brecht D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fraser c, Owner at The Park Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
The majority of reviewers on tripadvisor are beneficial in allowing potential customers valuable insight into establishments and also to us as hoteliers etc, in providing us with invaluable feedback.

However, on this occasion the reviewer has chosen to write 10 months after they stayed in our hotel. Therefore, the feedback they have provided is well out of date and note accurate. We did have a problem with our internet reception last year but this has now been upgraded, at a significant cost and free wi-fi is now available throughout the hotel and in all the bedrooms.

Whilst we feel that we have always offered good value for money in our restuarant we now offer a 2-course meal for £9.95. This is all homecooked in our own kitchen by my brother Jamie who is now head chef at our hotel. This deal was not on offer when this guest stayed with us and offers visitors great food at a great price.

Many Thanks,

Fraser Coyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    78
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
54
122
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The food is excellent here. For those that don't want the "Starters" menu, I was glad to find they had another which included a choice of starter and main or main and dessert.(all at a reasonable price). The staff are very nice and the rooms are vey clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

breakfast buffet offered little choice but good nonetheless. Room was good, close to town, we slept well

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank JulienMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I booked a stag trip for 19 guys online through a company, and they recommended this hotel for the accommodation. This was my first visit to Aviemore so I didn't really know which places were worth trying out - it looked good from the website and the price seemed reasonable. The rooms were all shared (including a family room for three people) and had all the mod cons - TV, coffee/tea, decent modern en suites, and built-in wardrobes. Very clean too.

The location is very good - about 5 minutes' walk away from the nearest shops and cafes, and next to a couple of nice pubs. The only thing I found strange was that the restaurant seemed to dictate the staff hours; e.g. if people had stopped eating around 10pm then all the staff (including reception) would close up and go home. There is no 24-hour reception and you have to hang on to your keys if you want to get back in late (if you lose them, you're sleeping elsewhere!).

Apart from that, really nice place and the staff were very helpful with all of us. Nice food from the restaurant (be careful about the 'starters' menu though, a few people in our group thought that some items were main meals, e.g. fish and chips which you'd expect to be a main meal for the price, but the portion was small) and the breakfasts really hit the spot.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a good sized twin room, with a seating area. Looks out onto the front/main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sikth07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Park Guest House, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review of our restaurant and accommodation. We do close reception at 10pm as advertised, being a family run establishment, we do not operate 24hrs. For future guests, we do stay open late to any residents wishing to stay and drink.

We do offer our tapas style menu as well as a main course menu. The tapas style menu is smaller portions and priced accordingly. There is a main fish and chips available from the main course menu for £9.95 including a starter. All our main courses are the same offer price.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come and visit again if you are ever back in Aviemore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great hotel, the only hotel in three weeks that has a shower that is not in the bath which we both prefer. Great staff would highly recommend. Rooms were better equipped and better furnished than some large hotel chains.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our stay here was blighted by the fact that shortly before we arrived my wife injured her knee. The staff, particularly Lesley-Anne couldn't have been more helpful, providing us with ice for the swelling etc.
Accommodation and food was good and the only slight negative was we had a room at the front which faces the road and it was a bit noisy from the traffic.
When we go back to Aviemore we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashandiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

good, friendly staff at reception and the restaurant.
However, the room is really small, with a small window looking to a roof!!we paid 60 pounds and, to be honest, it was not worth the money.
we were offered a twin room and, the beds were quite uncorfotable.
Breakfast is included but the quality of the food is bad...
i have been reading other reviews and I am really surprised how good they are!

Room Tip: take it if it is your only choice!... i would rather stay in a B&B in this area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.8 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Guest House

Property: The Park Guest House
Address: 131 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RL, Scotland (Formerly International Starters Restaurant & Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Starters Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Aviemore
International Starters Restaurant And Rooms
The Park Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing