We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandinavian Village
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September and had a lovely stay. The kitchen has all we needed, the lounge was open plan with the dining area. Upstairs was two comfortable bedrooms and one full bathroom with a power shower. Downstairs was a guest toilet. This was an good base to explore the area with wonderful walks, lots of outdoor sports as well as the surrounding area with the distilleries. You have to visit the smoke house for smoked salmon, the woollen mill and Walkers biscuits.And go for the sheepdog show, it is very good and on a working farm. Also try to go for a scrumptious lunch at the Aviemore hotel. All within easy walking distance.The Tescos close by helped a ;lot with last minute food shopping. The resort is clean and well laid out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandiGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 168 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have stayed here lots of times now over the last 25 years! It is a lovely little complex and although there is a 4 of us in a 1 bedroom apartment there is still plenty of room and the kids love sleeping in bunk beds! There is everything you need and if there is anything missing you can just ask reception which is what we did when we couldnt find a can opener! Aviemore is a great (but not cheap!) place with a handy Tesco and some nice restaurants/takeaways. We got Tesco to deliver our groceries to us on the first day which is really handy! There are so many places within an easy drive of Aviemore which is why we keep coming back. It is a great base for lots of fun days out. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is an attractive and well presented holiday complex. friendly and very helpful staff. Convenient for all facilities in Aviemore.
The one bedroom unit was well presented and very clean. Quiet location.
Utility costs much less than we expected and very low compared to other places we have stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2609jal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very good location and greenery around the hotel. Kids have playground were to play. There are a lot of bunnies running around, my kids loved to watch them. Kitchen equipped with everything one needs. Villa have also washing machine and dryer. Tesco, Clinic and plenty of restaurants in the neighbourhood. The apartments are cosy with a well sized shower. The villa was super, though one shower but two toilets, one on each floor.

Room Tip: We are members of timeshare. We had Apt 36 situated on A9,at around 6am noisy but we didn't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice and peaceful and not far from the shops. No noise from flats on either side and below.Well equiped kitchen with good quality pots and pans. Well used pine furniture which added to its rustic appeal. The weather was fantastic and we were able to eat out on the balcony. Very friendly and helpful lady at reception. A relaxing holiday. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank terriertam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It has been a few years since we have stayed at the Scandinavian Village and the last time we stayed (over 10 years ago) it was in need of some rennovation and improvement. We booked a villa (sleeps 6 - 4 bunk beds, 1 double bed and 1 sofa bed) and was pleasantly surpised at how well it was equipped. The furniture is quite rustic so if you're expecting Ikea - it's not at all like that! The villa was spacious and although the bedrooms are small they're more than adequate. The kitchen is again small but extremely well equipped with a full oven, microwave, fridge freezer, dish washer and a washing machine and separate tumble dryer. There is a downstairs toilet and a large family bathroom upstairs with a bath and electric power shower. The furniture is mainly pine and some of it is not particularly new but it is in keeping with the rustic feel of the accommodation. I have to say that I quite liked this as it gave the place a much more homely feel. There were 4 adults and one child in our party and the place was plenty big enough for us. Be warned though the floor boards were extremely creaky upastairs and the power shower makes a major racket ( a bit like a Jumbo jet taking off!) when you switch it on but the shower is brilliant and there was always plenty of hot water.
We hadn't realised that the check in is 5pm which is different to many RCI resorts so we were hanging about a bit although we did get into the villa about 30 minutes early.
We thought that the whole complex was very well looked after and the apartments now have a sort of wooden walkway which looked really nice. we would certainly use this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simpsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandiAviemore, General Manager at Scandinavian Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that you can see improvements within the resort since you last stayed with us. We will do our best to continue with these efforts. Looking forward to welcoming you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was a timeshare swap. The complex is very well laid out and ample parking next to all units. We had a 1 bedroom flat which in fact had two single beds and bunk beds in the bedroom and a sattee in living room which could sleep another 2. It was a living room come kitchen which was well fitted out woth fridge freezer ( quite small not big enough we felt) . Dishwasher, cooker and micro wave all that was needed. The bathroom was very clean with wc who and power shower. The shower was excellent . Only wee downside for us was beds were very hard but that is just a preference as some people prefer very firm beds. Free wifi which is nice but signal is intermittent depending on how many people using. The reception staff very friendly and overall this resort is definitely worth a visit. It's only an 8 minute walk to centre of Aviemore. No shop on site but so easy to access all necessary amenities. If you like being out and about in amazing countryside this is for you.

Room Tip: If you can get a lower apartment you have tables and chairs outside for sitting and having your meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.5 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: $147 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing