We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Memorable 1 Week in Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandinavian Village
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most Memorable 1 Week in Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 23rd Feb to 2nd March 2013. And what a beautiful place. Scandinavian Village is located on the main aviemore station road close to the market/shopping like 5 mins from a Tesco which is extremely convenient. Scandinavian Village is self catering the units/flats are so well equipped :) I dont even have all the kitchen amenities in my home kitchen ;) we arrived by car the check in was smooth. we got car parking outside our flat.
The staff was extremely helpful. I had access to all their services. They guided us on what we could do in scotland.
Scotland was cold this time of year but inside the rooms you feel so cozy...it was so perfectly warm :)
We stayed in flat number 29 which had beautiful rooms a beautiful garden best of all the view was facing the snow mountains and it was so beautiful every morning getting up to that.
i regret not using the mcdonald hotel for a swim.

I WOULD RECOMMEND ALL TO STAY HERE. IT WAS AN AWESOME STAY A LOVELY TOWN AND MOST IMPORTANTLY A BEAUTIFUL MEMORY.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaxmiAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    54
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Scandinavian Village is the only one of the three Timeshare resorts in Aviemore that is located close to the village centre, so it is well located for pubs and restaurants without the need to drive. The apartment was spacious with 2 large bedrooms and a large bathroom. There were beds for 8. The kitchen is well equipped with Bosch dishwasher and there was also a Bosch washing machine and tumble dryer. Open plan living room with flat screen tv.

Negative points were the old fashioned immersion water heater which only gave hot water for 2 people to shower before going cold, the creaky floorboards on the upstairs landing and the odd bed lights and came on of their own accord. Reception was aware of the phenomenon! Other issue was wifi is advertised as being available, but only place we could get a signal was in the car park!

Apartment was clean, but it was built in the 1970s and the decor was showing its age.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the wifi boosters to ensure you get a signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caley956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed here on several occasions,and the villas are superb,very well equipped,cosy and comfortable.They are so central to shops, restaurants and bars.You have a washing machine and dryer.The only down side was the neighbors next door,who were banging on our door at 2.am,and making lots of noise Other wise a great place..

Room Tip: Try to avoid the main road side,a bit noisy with traffic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank marj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Enjoyed my recent stay at the Scandinavian village. The apartment was clean and well kept. We managed to get eight people around the large dining table. It was good to have a dish washer.
Outside it was -3 but lovely and cozy indoors. We had about two inches of snow, the roads and pavements around the site were kept clear and well salted. My grandchildren played outside on their sledge. There was a number of fine wooden tree sculptures of birds and animals on the site. We had nice views of the mountains from our large patio windows. Lots to do in the area. Picturesque woods and mountains, great for photographers. Five minute walk from shops, supermarket and easy access to a wide variety of restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this site for a holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a villa with our 2 very young daughters and had a wonderful time. The villa was very clean and tidy, had a washing machine and dryer, had all the kitchen appliances we needed and a nice open plan down stairs floorplan. upstairs we had 2 rooms and a bathroom all of which were clean and well maintained. we had a lovely view of the mountains. The shops were a 5 mins walk away with nice restaurants and gift shops. We were right beside the macdonald resort which is fantastic if you have young kids. Our kids enjoyed the swimming pool, bouncy castles and soft play area. As it had been snowing they enjoyed sledging too. Its a perfect location. We were sad to leave as we had such a good time!

All staff were very friendly and approachable.

We would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janettewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my first stay at Scandinavian Village with my family consisting of my parents, brother, nephew and my wife and two daughters... we had a fantastic time at Scandinavian Village!

Upon arriving I met with staff at the temporary reception (the main reception was being revamped). The building work did not affect the service received, the staff were professional but not impersonal telling me about good local places to eat and even gave me a discount card to various deals around Aviemore, for example 10% food at Papa Rock restaurant.

We chose two Villas to stay in, both were immaculately clean, it would have passed the white glove treatment! The Villas were very well kitted out with a washing machine, tumble drier and dish washer! The kitchen also had everything you would ever need for self catering. Loads of towels were provided along with spare sheets etc.

Both Villas had very nice dining table sets with ornate carvings on the chairs and tables, we were a bit worried about making a mess of these with 3 messy kids but they cleaned up fine.
The Villas had nice flat screen TVs, freesat and DVD players.

When waking up on our first morning there was a covering of snow outside which definitely boosted the Christmassy feeling of our stay, and Scandinavian Village looked pretty all covered in snow, the fairy lights on the two large trees outside was a nice touch too.
One night was a bitter -4 degrees outside, but the Villas remained nice and warm throughout our trip - no issues there.

The location of Scandinavian Village is ideal. A 5 minute walk gets you on the main street of Aviemore which has loads of places to eat (including a Subway yeha!) and a mid sized Tesco’s to suit all of your self catering needs.

The McDonald resort facilities are also just a few minutes walk down quiet 1 way traffic roads. We visited the swimming pool which was expensive at £10.50 per adult, and was freezing cold, we had to leave early as our daughters were going blue! The bouncy castle attraction and soft play areas were excellent though and worth a visit.

I can’t fault our stay at Scandinavian Village, check it out you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just back from a wonderful weekend break with my grown up sons and my grandkids. The accommodation and location was what made it for me. Excellent all round. Oh and to awake with 3 inches of snow on the ground was the icing on the cake(see what I did there). Cannot speak more highly of the place a big well done to the management they fully deserve all the positive constructive comments made on this site.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.5 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Property: Scandinavian Village
Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing