We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandinavian Village
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed in the Aviemore RCI timeshare for a week in September 2011. It was not luxurious, in fact it was the least luxurious we have ever stayed in but it was clean, the kitchen was fine, the living area all right and the mattresses adequate.
What we really liked about the timeshare was its location. Walking and biking trails abound and for outdoor lovers Aviemore is a little bit of heaven. We could walk out our back door and get onto the ten km. Aviemore orbit trail. Rochiemurchus estate and its many walks is just down the road.
The village is within easy walking distance and there is a Tesco’s, a fine butcher, and two good bakeries. What more could a man want. Oh, yes a good pub. We only ate out once-at the Old Bridge Inn-a great pub with great food, not cheap but worth it.
This is definitely a place we would consider coming back to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jongage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    54
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

As a family we visited Scandanavian Village at the end of August 2011. The grounds were neat and tidy however the units were starting to show their age. We stayed in a Villa with 2 bedrooms sleeping 6. Be aware that everything is electric including the shower which uses water from the hot water heating cylinder with its emmersion heater and heating is via heating panels in the ceiling. The BIG dissapointment, particulary for families is now the total lack of any free on-site facilities such as a swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. We were informed three days before our visit that the nearest free leisure facilities are now at Grantown-on-Spey or Kingussie, a 28 miles round trip!! To use any of the facilities in the adjacent hotel you will be charged - and what a charge!! For a family of 2 adults and 2 children wanting to use the pool each day there is special low rate of £140 a week!! If you want the gym etc, then these will cost extra. This is a big minus point for any visit to the resort in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandiAviemore, General Manager at Scandinavian Village, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I would like to clarify that the costs that you mention are for electricity as used and all guests at Scandinavian Village have to pay these. Notification of these charges are sent to guests prior to their arrival. However, I apologise if there was any mix-up in your case.
The pool charges that you had to pay were not to us but to a seperate company and unfortunately, we have no control over these.

I wish you many happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Our first floor flat (46) looked out onto the busy A9 which was up an embankment 30 metres away, at eye level unfortunately, which was not comfortable or peaceful. We'd expected a quiet time but sadly the road noise was a distraction. Other buildings in the resort are better located. The flat was clean and well equipped, apart from the terrible sofabed which was painful to sit on. Spacious grounds were well maintained and pleasant, and leisure facilities were excellent in other parts of the resort.

Room Tip: Check location of the flat before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DorsetAvidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We had no idea. We booked here on a RCI points exchange. The area (Cairngorm mountains) is beautiful. Mountains (very different from the Alps) for hikes, walks, views. A funicular to get you to the top. Downhill skiing in season (which includes Christmas and Easter). Wild water rafting, canoeing, pony trekking, horseback trips, etc. Leisure resort amenities. Lots of space, peace and quiet for those who seek it.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlwdlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Very friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Accomodation warm, comfortable and very well equipped. Ideal place to come back to after a long day out. Located close to all the amenities that Aviemore has to offer.
Likes - Good value for money
Dislikes - None

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainS31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have just returned from a week staying in a villa at the Scandinavian Village...what a find! The whole complex is so well maintained, the grounds well landscaped and extremely clean. The villa was spotless, airy and the kitchen well stocked for cooking family meals. The bathroom had bath and shower unit and an added bonus was an extra toilet downstairs. The furnishings were very good quality and in keeping with the decor, however for added comfort a more comfortable sofa and chairs would have been preferable. Despite comments that the complex is situated next to the busy A9, yes we could see the cars through the trees but this had absolutely no impact on the peace and quiet of the setting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKHCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We expected a fairly basic unit here but were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the one bedroom unit into which we exchanged. It was very well equipped with good quality utensils and the electricity charge was modest considering the fact that we had to use some heating despite the date! Aviemore makes a great base from which to explore what must be one fo the most beautiful regions of our British Isles. We travelled many miles over a short week, including by train to Aberdeen via Inverness, by car to the Moray Firth, the Isle of Skye and many places around the Village, notably the RSPB reserves at Abernethy and the Inch Marshes and up to the top of Cairn Gorm. Self-catering was easy but there was a wide choice of restaurants within easy walking distance. Even though the weather was typically mountainous, ie, windy and unpredicatable, the stay was magical on occasions and delightful throughout. As members of Dial-an-Exchange we benefited from the use of the excellent leisure facilites at the Macdonald complex "next door" but this was an added extra rather than an essential in such an outdoor place. If you enjoy walking, nature or the outdoors generally this place makes an ideal base. The staff were helpful and obliging and we would love to return at some stage in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room for outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.5 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandinavian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Village

Property: Scandinavian Village
Address: Aviemore Centre | Cairngorm National Park, Aviemore PH22 1PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandinavian Village 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandinavian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Village Hotel Aviemore
Scandinavian Village Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing