We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved since we last went” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
139 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Much improved since we last went”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We've been coming to Aviemore for over 10 years and used to be fairly frequent visitors to La Taverna, but after a run of sub-standard pizza's, we gave up and haven't been back for about 5 years. However, after seeing their rising popularity on Trip Advisor and looking at how full the restaurant was every lunchtime, we thought we would give it another try.

We chose their £7.95 lunchtime buffet and the whole family was impressed. The pizza's that had just been brought out were excellent, although those that had been out a while had turned rather hard under the food lamps. The pasta's were also excellent, as was the salad bar. Service was efficient, although our waitress seemed particularly keen to sell us more drinks and didn't manage a single smile during several visits to our table. However, all the other staff we interacted with seemed much more friendly.

So in summary, a good meal for 4 people at a price for less than £40 including drinks is good value nowadays and La Taverna is definitely back on our list of Aviemore restaurants to use.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyHolidayTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    470
    137
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just as good as ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We eat here every time we're in Aviemore and have never been disappointed - food, services and atmosphere are always excellent - we'll be back again soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HilarieFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingbirchworth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“All the best Italian chefs have certainly left Italy. One of them is here in Aviemore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

what superb food. great wine. amazing atmosphere. such an excellent night out. try the chicken pesto salad and the chicken salad.... brilliant. excellent service too. such nice people.

Helpful?
Thank MoyaIngbirchworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just as good as we remembered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our second visit after visiting this time last year and it was just as good as we remembered!
Buffet was fabulous - delicious pizza and pasta and lots of choice of pizzas, pastas and salads. Good range of yummy desserts too!

The service is great - staff are very friendly and attentive!

Looking forward to returning next year!

We would recommend to book if planning to go on an evening as they get very busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayAndZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Italian delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Only booked tonight and they managed to squeeze us in for 8pm. I had seen the buffet sign but not taken much notice, as after a hard days skiing we all just fancied a pizza. Wow what a buffet, fantastic array of salads, very good choice of different pastas, also a good choice of freshly made pizzas, service was second to none, plates cleared as soon as you had finished, better than some 5* hotels we've stayed in!! Would definately recommend, believe me we have eaten in some top class restaurants, we are a very fussy family, in fact we booked for Friday before we go back home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lango19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing