We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend with family, we had an apartment and a lodge for 9 of us. Lodge to sleep 6 and apartment slept 4. What a joke!!! Lodge was tiny with a dble room, twin room, sofa bed. The kitchen was tiny and the bathroom door opened into the living room. Furniture had to be moved round just to get the sofa bed out. Very old fashioned and in much need of modernisation.
On a plus side- meal in restaurant was nice, staff were friendly. Also very disappointed in pool and changing rooms.
Overall very disappointed and will not recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 224 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

This week past we have had the pleasure of staying at Silverglades , Aviemore.( which has special rates for most things in Aviemore) . It is situated next to Dalfaber country club and its amenities.
All the years we have been coming to Aviemore to stay whether it has been at Coylum, Silverg, or McD Highland resort i have always felt welcome .
However one afternoon when i asked for an half hour tennis session , same as the day before, the regular manager who was back from holiday that day said rules had to be stuck by and you could only buy the court by the hour.
Pardon me but when you are on holiday you want to have no hassle and definitely not to meet any Jobsworths.
After a wee chat with a lovely lass called Gina at the McDonald resort everything was sorted out ( after all i had spent £70 on a round of golf and electric caddy hire just an hour earlier)
Anyway later that week we wandered down to the Scottish Steak Club (Dalfaber Golf and Country Club) where we had a most enjoyable meal . All four of us ( 2 adults and 2 boys ) thought the food was of the highest quality and were most impressed with Nelson who seemed to take control of all situations going on around him.
This meal completely restored our faith in the Mcd brand at Aviemore.
There are so many dining options in Aviemore and to be fair most are very good so when you do have a squibble with a company it is good to get it sorted out.

Room Tip: Ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skiboy_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was looking for a 2 night break for my daughter, granddaughter (18 months) and myself not too far from where I live. From the moment we walked into the Cairngorm lodge we knew we had found the perfect place. The living room, sunroom looking over the cairngorm mountains, the bedrooms ..... The whole place was spotlessly clean (as was whole complex) and extremely well equipped if you were there self catering.

My daughter and I both agreed that this place was so peaceful and relaxing and we wished we had booked longer. Will definitely return with hubby next time :)

We used swimming pool which was lovely and warm but did not manage any other facilities.

Room Tip: The living area is upstairs which can be a minor negative point given that we had to carry wee one u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gintyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We are just coming to the end of a week long stay, and have had a lovely week. We stayed in one of the Patio houses, which are really well done. Three bedrooms and be attached to the other, so good if you have young children as we have. The conservatory and private garden area is lovely too. The house is very well equipped ad had things in it that meant we didn't need to get, ie Tupperware containers, flask....etc etc. the elec bill was a little more than expected, but overall still felt really good value. Our house was in the middle of the complex, so although not really private, it was still very nice and a great view, for which I would say they all seem to have. We used the pool and kids play area a lot. They were both good and kept our three year old well entertained. The only down side was the tv and Internet which you pay fifteen pounds for, the signal is rather poor and ld to frustrations in the week when match of the day wouldn't play! Other than that, really pleased with our stay. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank JoFerguson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I went with our baby for a week in April. We stayed in the Cairngorm Lodge and it was the peaceful week we had hoped for and already planning a return visit with another family. The resort has many different lodges but I think the Cairngorm looks the biggest and its probably the only one I would return to with a baby.
The leisure facilites are great, really clean and the changing facilities and spa are all new.
The restaurant was ok. Quite over priced and our steaks did take an hour to arrive! Probaly the only let down of our week.
The scenery is beautiful. Loved sitting in our conservatory at night with a bottle of wine looking over the golf course.

Room Tip: Cairngorm villa. Cabins look very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janers2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is just a fifteen minute walk away from the town and the scenery is outstanding . The lodges are well equipped and are very comfortable , we used the facilities and the pool was fantastic and the pub was cosy and not to pricey .The restaurant was not used as very overpriced head into town for fantastic value for money meals especially the pub called the winking owl. All in all a great stay although watch for the hidden extras even though you have fully paid for your lodge ect on checking out they charge you for the electricity you have used which should really have been part of the original cost !!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Was concerned that our choice of a chalet for an unusually chilly march (-10 on our last night) would result in either a huge heating bill or poor quality of sleep but we were delighted with the property and how cosy it was. The chalet kitchen was well resourced and the dining/ conservatory ideal for families who enjoy eating at a table and/or playing board games. We had a super 3 night stay and used many of the on site facilities the pool was lovely and warm and never overly busy. The Steak Club was a lovely place to eat (nice wine too) but the pizza/chippy in the near by housing estate worth a visit as well. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, we will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatNap66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
1.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
1 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
4.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Address: Dalfaber Drive | Ph22 1st, Aviemore, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: $83 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spey Valley Golf & Country Club borders the famous River Spey with spectacular views of the surrounding Spey Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. The Resort is close to the lively village of Aviemore.Spey Valley Golf & Country Club offers luxury lodges, spacious apartments and cosy Scandinavian style chalets scattered around a nine hole, par 3 golf course. The reception area, swimming pool, sports hall and other leisure facilities, along with an excellent restaurant and relaxing bar are all located in the Clubhouse.Whether you are here to enjoy an exciting activity holiday or a break in glorious scenery, you're sure to find what you are looking for at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. We wish you an enjoyable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf & Country Club Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing