We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aniversary Relaxing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Aniversary Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Outstanding Holiday. The resort was so close to everything ! Ten mins from train station,Nice welcome,Good for Golf lovers & fishing. Beautiful scenery, we stayed in a appartment which had everthing in, like being at home. Shop 5 min walk, cost cutter, Tesco 10-15 min walk. Right by the river Spey, very quiet at resort. Cairngorms small drive through beautiful scenery, up to the ski resort by cable Bus, loved every minute. Every day we where amazed while driving to find rivers, working dog farms, zoo, parks, the list goes on... Aviemore is pretty place with nice Restaurants & few Bars, friendly people. Hired a car for 5 off the 7 days, much needed.

Room Tip: We wanted a Lodge but sold out, Appartments where nice perhaps a bit dated, but we didnt mind as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enamckinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    66
    45
    25
    19
See reviews for
102
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just had my fifteenth visit to the Macdonald Dalfaber resort with my family and have to say that were were really disappointed at how much things have gone downhill since we were last there. We love the location of the resort and the 9-hole golf course on site as we use this every day but apart from that, I have to say there's not much else that would attract me to Dalfaber nowadays.
On checking in to our Patio accommodation we noticed that it had not been cleaned to a decent standard as there were cobwebs in the corner of almost all of the rooms and the floors were very grubby. Worktops in the kitchen had not been wiped down and the dining table was all sticky. We had to buy cleaning products and do this ourselves.
The cost to hire sports facilities is really high nowadays, with many of our neighbours on the resort commenting that they can no longer afford to hire a tennis/badminton court for an hour as it's just not worth the money. The entertainment in the Country Club was of a very poor standard and is now only on 2-3 nights a week, as opposed to 7 nights which used to be the case. The staff at the Country Club were friendly enough (one or two were really pleasant and had a laugh with us) but seemed in a hurry to close up every night and we were actually asked to leave the premises on two occasions as "the bar closes at 11pm". Never in our 15 year history of visiting the resort, has the bar closed at 11pm. Some nights we've been able to sit there till well after 12am - regardless of whether we were the last customers in the bar. This year we were told that our drinks would be taken from us if we did not finish them in time which was VERY disappointing. It's not as if we were a group of rowdy youngsters, some of our party are over 60 years old and to be treated like this was pretty bad.
The gym and pool facilities could do with being updated as they are beginning to look old and tired - on the plus side, guests are able to use the new pool and gym at the Macdonald resort in the centre of the town so this is well worth doing.
Can't comment on the food as we would not eat in the Steak Club restaurant due to the limited menu and high priced food.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay but are really disappointed in the way Dalfaber is going and feel that we are now being forced to spend more and more time out of the resort in order to be able to enjoy ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_jfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Peterhead , Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Ok , I make a habit of staying in Aviemore with the family . Anyone who has an incling for TGO has probably visited 'More' in their travels so Dalfaber and its country club restaurant has got to be worth its salt or it simply would not be able to survive. Over the years we have used the facilities at the country club while either staying at Silverglades or the MacDonald Highland Resort and have yet to have a bad experience.
On this occasion we had the pleasure of dining at the Scottish Steak Club where Johann the manager made us feel most welcome . I have to say all the staff were brilliant with Cameron being the other star who has an excellent manner with folks.
We ordered gammon steak for our main course and were pleasantly surprised to hear that because we had ordered before six pm we would get it for £6. Now this makes a fair difference , because if you think you have got a good deal then you just might be inclined to stay a bit longer, enjoy the evening entertainment and buy a few more drinks . Guess what . That is exactly what we did . Our thinking was if you are out for the evening where there is very good food, good entertainment , a fine bar and a chidrens play area , why go anywhere else.
Ten out of ten for all. Hope to see you in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiboy_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I reviewed this 20-June-2011 and recorded that it needed and was getting refurbished for this year. Guess what, it didn't happen, so it's even more shabby. The water damage is still there from last year as is the hole in the wall. It was apparently due for refurbishment in October, so MacDonald had plenty of time to inform us that it hadn't been done, but they didn't. They were given a long list of problems last year but they must have lost that because only one thing had been fixed by this year. If I had know all this I would not have gone. I think some sort of refund would be appropriate but I will not hold my breath. I think there must be plenty of similar places that are nicer and cheaper in Aviemore, I suggest you look.
Advertised at Dalfaber and indeed around Aviemore is a large MacDonald swimming pool with flume and wave machine. It is indeed very nice, but they neglect to mention that the flume and wave machine do not work due to structural problems (I was told by staff). I could get no time frame as to when it was going to be fixed. I hope they do not use the monies allocated to refurbishing the living areas to fix it, but it would not surprise me.

Room Tip: Make sure the unit you're going to has been refurbished recently. Don't take too much food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I went with with 2 teenage children in August 2011. (boy and girl)
We all really enjoyed the resort, both the golf course and the leisure facilities - specifically the pool, sauna, squash courts and gym

The chalet we stayed in overlooked th 1st green of the 9 hole course - the kids loved it as I felt like being at Centreparcs

Everyone was really friendly, the food was good in the clubhouse (it was fairly quiet at the time)

We went on a zip wire adventure using a local company and also som canyoning - all thoroughly recommended !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday at the Dalfaber Golf & Country Club.

We were very disappointed with a number of things over our stay which I will list below and have attached a number of photos:

1 – Please see the picture of the mould growing on the ceiling in our bathroom. For a property of this standard and the price being paid, this is unacceptable.

2 – The external entrance of the Topsider was completely covered in cobwebs and had clearly not been cleaned for a few weeks.

3 – The most frustrating thing about the stay was that the TV did not show a clear picture (see attachment). Despite a number of visits from the in house maintenance team, who also confessed that the TV was a problem and that MacDonald’s had made a big mistake putting this system in..... this was most frustrating as we had looked forward to watching the Jubilee celebrations over the three day period. The children could not also watch any children’s TV

4 – We paid £774.00 for this week but was then charged additional energy charges of £34.19. For only a two bedroom property in the summer, this is a complete ‘rip off’ and a complete unnecessary ‘penny pinching’ exercise. I only pay £60 per month at my 4 bedroom house at home even in the winter so how can they justify the 34.19 pw which is the same as £148.16

We sent the above e mail to the General Manager and the complaints departamnt but again bit like their Maintenance Program, they have not got back to us..........

Room Tip: This is a very aged Resort with very little Investment being made to keep it up to standard. Try one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicemollyalfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Fantastic location, ten min walk to pretty village shops etc. Friendly locals, lots to do & see. Trip to ski centre is a must, lovely day out, hired car. Resort is lovely, great for golf & fishing. Swimming pool & steam room all free. Apartment has everything you need, utensils, bedding, towels, iron. Loved every minute off stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enamck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.8 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Property: Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
Address: Dalfaber Drive | PH22 1ST, Aviemore, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spey Valley Golf & Country Club borders the famous River Spey with spectacular views of the surrounding Spey Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. The Resort is close to the lively village of Aviemore.Spey Valley Golf & Country Club offers luxury lodges, spacious apartments and cosy Scandinavian style chalets scattered around a nine hole, par 3 golf course. The reception area, swimming pool, sports hall and other leisure facilities, along with an excellent restaurant and relaxing bar are all located in the Clubhouse.Whether you are here to enjoy an exciting activity holiday or a break in glorious scenery, you're sure to find what you are looking for at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. We wish you an enjoyable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf & Country Club Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing