We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B if you want peace and quiet”

Glenan Lodge Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenan Lodge Guest House
Ranked #17 of 31 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B if you want peace and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed for a 2 night break to relax and enjoy outdoor activities. You need a car to get out and about. The owners can organise fishing on the local river. There are plenty of good places to eat within 20 minutes drive and the owners does serve evening meals with a bar on site.The large house is 100 years old but despite it being the first cold night of the autumn it was warm inside. The breakfast included excellent local produce.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
23
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed here for one night on the way around Scotland. Ignore the signs off the A9 and head through the distillery to get to the guest house as the signed route is full of pot holes. Although we faced a bumpy journey from the A9 the welcome was very warm. We had advised ahead we would be having dinner, which was served at 715. A tasty two course, home cooked meal at a very reasonable price with local beers which were very nice. After dinner, we went for a walk into the village - although if we had had more time we would have walked down to the viaducts. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Home cooked breakfast the next morning was a great way to start the day. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

We found the road to the guest house enchanting! It's not in a big city, but nestled nicely down an old little road. The house on the outside is beautiful :) Looks very pretty. And on the inside it only gets better! Robert and Lesley were very friendly! They helped us plan out our route for site seeing the two days we were there. We had a lovely stay, the room was beautiful! And the food was delicious!
We can not say enough to describe what a nice place it is! :) We are defiantly going to stay at the Glenan Lodge Guest House on our next trip to Scotland!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowboardingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford uk
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Glenan lodge was booked online and looked good in the photo. The house was approached down a potholed track which my wifes car could only just traverse. The house was nice with an attractive dineing room, and very smart lounge. Our room was somewhat dark, but OK. On arrival we were told to adhere to our alocated time for breakfast as the Landlady was on her own for six weeks and she had "seventeen in".Although on her own ,I got the impression that any number of bookings would have been taken regardless of staff shortages just to "get the cash in". The "nearby" Pub discussed over the phone was in fact about a mile away, and as we had to use the car it may as well have been ten miles away. There was abar in the dineing room, but no amount of ringing the bell could get a response.We were first downin the morning, had no problems, and breakfast was OK. Later guests, undecided what to order were told to get a move on as there were more guests coming down shortly! We loaded the car , and I was almost afraid to pop back in and pay the bill incase I was holding her up! All in all I think you could do a lot better than staying at Glenan Lodge. Peter and Beryl Wright, Bedford

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank critical6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

You might think Tomatin's just a sign on the A9, but here's a reason to stop over. A really friendly, high quality well-priced guest house, off the road and next to the distillery! The ingredients for breakfast are all locally sourced and are excellent. Very comfortable!

  • Liked — Quiet and efficient
  • Disliked — Rooms a little bit small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shabbyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
13.8 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
11.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
8.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#4 of 9 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
8.4 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 9 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenan Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenan Lodge Guest House

Property: Glenan Lodge Guest House
Address: Tomatin | Inverness-shire, Aviemore IV13 7YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenan Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenan Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenan Lodge Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing