We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nethy lodge”
Review of Pine Bank Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Bank Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We rented Nethy lodge, a two bedroomed lodge near the road to the Cairngroms and the railway line. We were very impressed when we entered the lodge to find it clean and spacious. all we needed to provide was towels for the shower and personal toiletries. The kitchen has everything that you need, microwave, toaster, hob, oven, cutlery, pots, crockery, washing up liquid, dish towels etc. We didn't use the oven but did feel it could have done with a quick clean but it wasn't bad otherwise the kitchen/living area was very clean and comfortable. The shower room was spacious and clean and the mould at the bottom of the shower could be cleaned off easily. The bedroom had a double bed that felt small and was rock hard which meant an uncomfortable week especially as I am pregnant at the moment. The view from the bedroom window is of the slope to the railway line, the noise of trains didn't bother us but may bother others as you do feel the vibrations through the lodge. the windows at the front of the lodge look into another lodge that is in front of Nethy, this did make us feel a little hemed in as we normally stay in more rural areas. Short walk into aviemore and parking in front of the lodge. If you are happy staying in more built up areas then this lodge will make a lovely place to stay. Have no complaints from our stay at all but it has helped us make the decision to go back to the caravan in future. As always Aviemore is a great place to holiday.

Room Tip: Very firm mattress so if you have a bad back do be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countdown09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

So good we brought our friends this time. Perfect location, everything you need, dog friendly, child friendly. As for the previous comment about the small tv, you don't travel to one of the most beautiful places in the world to sit and watch tv, it's an adequate size if you are gonna watch it. Would recommend to all my friends, clients and family.

Room Tip: Nethy is brilliant for 2 people, Cairngorm is brilliant for small groups or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

These are in an excellent location near the centre of Aviemore, but also within easy reach of the less central attractions, such as the ski area and forests. Reception, and the owners, were very welcoming and made an effort to find extra cookware which we had forgotten to bring.

The pub next door is very handy and the food was good.

We'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The best part about Pine Bank Chalets is the location in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. The cabins are located on the edge of town with river and mountain views set to the chorus of a plethora of birdlife. Five minute scenic walk to town via the pub.

Simon the owner was welcoming and asked us if we needed anything when we saw him. He was attentive but not intrusive. He was seen everyday working hard maintaining the gounds.

Our kids loved the squirrels and rabbits. Cabin was well maintained and well appointed. We were very warm and heating was excellent. Did not cross paths with any of the other guests which suited us.

A great escape in a beautiful intimate setting. I hope we have the opportunity to return some day.

Room Tip: We stay in the Bynack chalet and it was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul72NorthernIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Have stayed at PIne bank on a few occasions, Lodges are getting quite tired and need to be more comfortably furnished, was also not as clean as could have been.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

we stayed on the site over easter,no complaints the owners are helpful and even arranged an easter egg hunt on easter day for kids,good location even tho its close to railway its not noisey
my only complaint was the recieptionist girl not very welcoming after a 7 hr drive
we would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi8812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of March and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Pine Bank Chalets. We stayed in Braeriach (2 person chalet) which faced Dalfaber Road and the Bridge to Rothiemurchus. Absolutely no complaints about the accommodation, it was larger than we expected and had everything you needed apart from personal towels which is no hassle as you can either take them with you or, if you're travelling light - hire them. We were spoiled with the weather which was in the 20's every day of our stay! Our country is gorgeous at the best of times but it was beautiful walking and climbing in the Cairngorms with the sun shining and great to come back to such comfortable accommodation. You are 10-20 mins walk into Aviemore depending how quickly you walk but there is an underpass further down Dalfaber Road which cuts this down. We ate out every night although could have cooked in. Food in the Italian at the top of the road heading into Aviemore was fab with an eat all you can Italian buffet for about £13. Roos Leap was also really good if you've had a hard day cycling or hillwalking. Our last meal was in the Cairngorm Hotel and that too was excellent. All in all an excellent break which we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JK03LOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bank Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bank Chalets

Address: Dalfaber Road, Aviemore PH22 1PX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: $86 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pinebank Chalets Hotel Aviemore
Pine Bank Chalets Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing