We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like being back at camp!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aviemore Youth Hostel
Reviewed December 15, 2013

As for the title - I think that is a good thing! With the sort of outdoor wonderland that Aviemore is, the more camp-like the experience, the better I think. I was here on probably the slowest season - before the ski crowds show up but well after the summer revelers have left. As a result, it is possible I enjoyed this hostel more than I would have in busier times of year. I showed up very late (I am pretty sure I emailed someone about my arrival time, but with staff changeover, who knows if that bit of info ever got to the guy who happened to be working that day) and at first walked in the wrong direction after getting off my bus from Aberdeen. This was a bit of fortuitousness though as it brought me to a Tesco where I was able to pick up a bit of dinner and ask for directions - the Tesco was only open for another half hour so good timing! A short, chilly walk to the hostel brought me to a walkway in full view of a very spacious lounge area with massive windows on the front of the hostel. One guy leapt up from the couch and dashed to the reception - I guess they really were waiting for me!

The fellow who checked me in was a bit scatterbrained, but he admitted as much and it was more amusing than anything. I had to prompt him for things like curfews, kitchen location etc. I saw a couple other people sitting in the lounge reading (there was a TV in here, pool tables, games, sofas, tables, and a take-a-book-leave-a-book shelf). There was another lounge area by reception with more tables, chairs, sofas, and tucked in the corner, an internet station that I didn't notice until my last morning. That's fine, who wants to waste time online in a place like this?? I did not use the kitchen aside from borrowing a fork but it was MASSIVE, clearly able to accommodate large amounts of people in peak season. They had a variety of things for sale too - porridge, coffee, snacks.

I booked a dorm room but I was the only one staying in it for the first 2 nights, so that was awesome. I wouldn't look forward to that situation any other time of year! My last night I had a single roomate who kept to herself, so that was still fine. The point someone made about the doors is valid - you need two hands to open the door (one to turn the spring-loaded key, the other to turn the spring-loaded doorknob) so it is handy to bring a bag or something if you are carting things back and forth from the shower, and they shut with significant abruptness that would wake the whole room if there was anyone else in it. There is also a hall light that was just outside the room and a window above the door so it was pretty bright in there the whole time.

The rooms were reasonably clean. The halls are a bit dingy (even tho they have a big mudroom out front and ask you to take your outdoor shoes off before coming inside) and none of the floors are even so step high! There is a sink and mirror in the room, but sinks in the shower and toilet rooms as well. Toilets are separate from showers, which is good, and the showers are in 2-curtain stalls so you can keep your clothes dry but still have privacy. The showers operate on a push-button sequence, so you get about 20-30 seconds of water before you have to push the button again. The shower stream is lovely and strong and hot though. I encountered one shower that had a drain so clogged I feared it would overflow, and the next night there was somewhat inexplicably an earthworm wriggling in the bottom of the shower..?? Not sure if someone tracked it in or if it came up the drain.

That aforementioned front mudroom is good, i imagine, in winter - there are cubbyholes so I guess you can exchange your mucky outside boots for indoor shoes or slippers in your own little cubby. The rooms have no lockers for your valuables - just a coat closet to hang things up. The front yard of the place has tons of bird feeders, and there are birds and bunnies all over the place. The property backs onto a nice little nature reserve as well which is great for a morning walk - lots of evidence of deer. It is on the edge of town, but it is a small town and easy to walk to anything - the charter bus stop, train station, bus stop for the mountains, pubs, sports rental shops, sports guiding companies, the cinema and bowling alley (!!), and the wonderful attractions in Rothiemurchus.

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel and would happily return here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Shoogs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Aviemore Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 101 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have used a number of Scottish Youth Hostels as an overnight stop-off while driving up north, We had some last minute changes to be made with respect to the reservation. The staff were very helpful & sorted everything out for us.
We went out for dinner and a couple of drinks then cam back to the youth hostel for a few games of cards & a wee dram.
All very relaxing & enjoyable.
The only negative comment we would have is that the room was a little bit musty but opening the door & window for an hour cleared it out.
We would definitely stop off there again.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment - this is a busy and popular youth hostel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over night and it was both mine and my husbands first experience in a hostel.
It was hard to find and if you blink you will miss the small signpost at the entrance to the drive, but is in a prime location set in lovely surroundings.
We received a warm welcome on arrival and our room was spotless, the lounge was big and homely, the kitchen WC and shower rooms were in good repair and clean . We enjoyed our stay here very much and have no complaints

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is probably the worst place I slept the last years!

The rooms are basic (but that's not a problem in a Youthhostel). Toilets and showers are basic and shared. In our room we could hear the water all the time.
The doors close and open very difficult. Everytime somebodie opens or closes the door everybode is awake.
The wifi is expensive: 1 pound for 20 minutes!
rules: no alcohol, places for minor 16 and plus 16, no entrance after 2 pm, kitchen closed from 11 - 14 u., blablabla
the kitchen and the dining room are comfortable!
Some staff are helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevenenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, Manager at Aviemore Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Stevenenhilde,
Thank you for your recent review of Aviemore YH. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience.
I am, however, concerned at what I can only presume to be a break down in communications. Alcohol is indeed permitted in the hostel, however we do not sell it. We do, on occasion, ask guests to sit in a certain area of the hostel, however this is only when we have groups of young children staying and if their leaders ask for this. As a family friendly youth hostel, it is so important that we consider all our guests.
I am also confused regarding your comment about certain age groups being designated areas of the hostel. This is not the case, all guests are welcome in all public areas of the hostel.
The kitchen and dining room does need to be cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis, which is the reason we close it, however most days it is open by midday and so I can only apologise that this did not seem to be the case when you stayed.
As we are a charity, which receives no government funding, we rely on donations to fund our hostels. In charging for services such as WiFi it allows us to continue charging discounted bed prices throughout our entire network.
I would be most grateful if you could take the time to e-mail me at cairngormgroupmanager@syha.org.uk with more details regarding your stay and to enable me to investigate further. I assure you it is never our intention to disappoint our guests.
Kind regards
Heather Fraser
Cairngorm Group Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I loved this hostel so much! People who work there are so friendly! From there, it's easy to join the station, the old steam railway, the city centre, but it is in the middle of a quiet place, with lots of lovely, cute, furry and jumpin' rabbits ^_^

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I came here having after staying at the bunkhouse then going out to a bothy for 3 nights. The bunkhouse wouldn't let me check in till 4 and as it had not been great and rather lacking in atmosphere (read empty) I decided to decamp to get a much needed shower and dry some gear. It has a great communal lounge looking out over lawns in a peaceful location. Everyone was friendly and accommodating and the room/bunks were fine. Kitchen was adequate but having 2 fridges out of order is unacceptable

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I took a single room in the Youth Hostel so I could spread out kit to dry and not have to worry about disturbing others. I was suprised how quiet the hostel was on a Saturday in mid-May and enjoyed a very restful stay. Everything is a little bit drab and basic and the single room perhaps doesn't represent the best value for money but I was happy with my stay. The corridor lights outside my room were a bit temperamental and the shower temperature control didn't seem too keen to work. Otherwise though it met my expectations, providing a good place to dry out and easy access to the pubs in Aviemore and for continuing my journey the next day.

Room Tip: The Single Room had a bunk bed, wardrobe and a sink so there was plenty of space for me to spread ou...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.7 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 29 in Aviemore
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviemore Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Youth Hostel

Address: 25 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range: $48 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviemore Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by woodland, our youth hostel is situated on the boundary of the Cairngorms National Park, a short walk from Aviemore town centre and its bustling nightlife. The youth hostel itself is extremely peaceful, with great facilities. We are also ideally located for many outdoor activities year-round, such as snowsports, watersports and mountain biking. Most activities take place in the nearby Rothiemurchus Estate or on the Cairngorm mountain range. The area itself is host to a diverse range of wildlife, everything from red squirrels, deer, capercaillie, eagles and arctic hares. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Aviemore Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviemore Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing