We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Flexible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aviemore Youth Hostel
Northumberland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly & Flexible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have used a number of Scottish Youth Hostels as an overnight stop-off while driving up north, We had some last minute changes to be made with respect to the reservation. The staff were very helpful & sorted everything out for us.
We went out for dinner and a couple of drinks then cam back to the youth hostel for a few games of cards & a wee dram.
All very relaxing & enjoyable.
The only negative comment we would have is that the room was a little bit musty but opening the door & window for an hour cleared it out.
We would definitely stop off there again.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment - this is a busy and popular youth hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
9
7
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penicuik, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over night and it was both mine and my husbands first experience in a hostel.
It was hard to find and if you blink you will miss the small signpost at the entrance to the drive, but is in a prime location set in lovely surroundings.
We received a warm welcome on arrival and our room was spotless, the lounge was big and homely, the kitchen WC and shower rooms were in good repair and clean . We enjoyed our stay here very much and have no complaints

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
358 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is probably the worst place I slept the last years!

The rooms are basic (but that's not a problem in a Youthhostel). Toilets and showers are basic and shared. In our room we could hear the water all the time.
The doors close and open very difficult. Everytime somebodie opens or closes the door everybode is awake.
The wifi is expensive: 1 pound for 20 minutes!
rules: no alcohol, places for minor 16 and plus 16, no entrance after 2 pm, kitchen closed from 11 - 14 u., blablabla
the kitchen and the dining room are comfortable!
Some staff are helpfull.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, Manager at Aviemore Youth Hostel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Stevenenhilde,
Thank you for your recent review of Aviemore YH. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience.
I am, however, concerned at what I can only presume to be a break down in communications. Alcohol is indeed permitted in the hostel, however we do not sell it. We do, on occasion, ask guests to sit in a certain area of the hostel, however this is only when we have groups of young children staying and if their leaders ask for this. As a family friendly youth hostel, it is so important that we consider all our guests.
I am also confused regarding your comment about certain age groups being designated areas of the hostel. This is not the case, all guests are welcome in all public areas of the hostel.
The kitchen and dining room does need to be cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis, which is the reason we close it, however most days it is open by midday and so I can only apologise that this did not seem to be the case when you stayed.
As we are a charity, which receives no government funding, we rely on donations to fund our hostels. In charging for services such as WiFi it allows us to continue charging discounted bed prices throughout our entire network.
I would be most grateful if you could take the time to e-mail me at cairngormgroupmanager@syha.org.uk with more details regarding your stay and to enable me to investigate further. I assure you it is never our intention to disappoint our guests.
Kind regards
Heather Fraser
Cairngorm Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mandello del Lario, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I loved this hostel so much! People who work there are so friendly! From there, it's easy to join the station, the old steam railway, the city centre, but it is in the middle of a quiet place, with lots of lovely, cute, furry and jumpin' rabbits ^_^

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I came here having after staying at the bunkhouse then going out to a bothy for 3 nights. The bunkhouse wouldn't let me check in till 4 and as it had not been great and rather lacking in atmosphere (read empty) I decided to decamp to get a much needed shower and dry some gear. It has a great communal lounge looking out over lawns in a peaceful location. Everyone was friendly and accommodating and the room/bunks were fine. Kitchen was adequate but having 2 fridges out of order is unacceptable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I took a single room in the Youth Hostel so I could spread out kit to dry and not have to worry about disturbing others. I was suprised how quiet the hostel was on a Saturday in mid-May and enjoyed a very restful stay. Everything is a little bit drab and basic and the single room perhaps doesn't represent the best value for money but I was happy with my stay. The corridor lights outside my room were a bit temperamental and the shower temperature control didn't seem too keen to work. Otherwise though it met my expectations, providing a good place to dry out and easy access to the pubs in Aviemore and for continuing my journey the next day.

Room Tip: The Single Room had a bunk bed, wardrobe and a sink so there was plenty of space for me to spread ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

a basic youth hostel, ok with the price paid.
4 beds dormitory, still with some squealing beds; calm night though.
Not enough shower though, and bathroom are the least you can get. There is a large common area, with tv and a roughly old pool table with two broken pool sticks :-(
Well that's the night you are ready to have once in a time, but that's it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 26 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
0.2 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviemore Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Youth Hostel

Property: Aviemore Youth Hostel
Address: 25 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviemore Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by woodland, our youth hostel is situated on the boundary of the Cairngorms National Park, a short walk from Aviemore town centre and its bustling nightlife. The youth hostel itself is extremely peaceful, with great facilities. We are also ideally located for many outdoor activities year-round, such as snowsports, watersports and mountain biking. Most activities take place in the nearby Rothiemurchus Estate or on the Cairngorm mountain range. The area itself is host to a diverse range of wildlife, everything from red squirrels, deer, capercaillie, eagles and arctic hares. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Aviemore Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviemore Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing