We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first stones”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clava Cairns

Clava Cairns
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.15*
and up
Full-Day Loch Ness Tour from Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Mysterious ancient ruins and burial chambers similar to Stonehenge.
Hohenfels, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My first stones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my first visit to Bronze Age ruins. We picked up a brochure at the culloden battlefield right down the road which complimented the trip very nicely. Apart from the age and ancient purpose beyond the stones the setting was just beautiful. I would recommend the site, especially considering its proximity to culloden.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank iwantitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    99
    15
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Really interesting cairn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Though the stones do not have as many carvings as other similar burial places from the Bronze Age, the site itself, in the middle of oat fields, under beautiful elms and oak trees, is worth a visit.

If you have a chance check out the online brochure by Historic Scotland, which completes nicely the information available on site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Euskadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must see if you're in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stopped by on recommendation from Rick Steves' guide. It's really not far from Inverness. We were the only people there, which made it almost mystical. I'm surprised it's not more popular given that it's easy to reach (by car) and free. The mounds and stones are fairly plain, and there not a lot of signs other than the entry sign, but it's still impressive that these were put together thousands of years ago.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bb1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outlanders starting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

After reading the Diana Gabaldon Outlander series ive been desperate to get up and see the cairns it was a very peaceful visit, helped set the scence for the books too

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our bus tour brought us here and we really enjoyed it. There are boards explaining the burial stones, so ancient and historical. The site is not crowded or too touristy and you're able get up close to the structures. The atmosphere and mood is like a cemetery. Fascinating, glad we came.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BucketList2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clava Cairns also viewed

Culloden Moor, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
Ardersier, Inverness
 

Been to Clava Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing