We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service in Glasgow - cringeworthy!”
Review of Mings - CLOSED

Mings
Price range: $13 - $49
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst service in Glasgow - cringeworthy!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I too made the mistake of buying a voucher without reading reviews.
The attitude of the staff was beyond doubt the worst I've experienced, so much so we cancelled the food and left. Was surprised to see some reviewers found the service good - I must have been in the wrong place. Not sure if its a cultural difference but the staff were miserable, it felt like they were doing us a favour! I would never recommend or return even if the food had been okay.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Urbanmuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    44
    51
    39
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We popped in here for lunch while shopping on a very busy Saturday. The restaurant is calm in the midst of the throng of the city. The staff are attentive, friendly, speedy and polite. The lunch time menu is pretty extensive and not expensive. The food is really lovely. We would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordonmckinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LUNCH”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ipopped in for lunch today good service and food fab. The chap I think his name was Keo very helpful I shall return..............!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Food and service was fantastic. A little pricey without vouchers to reduce bill. It properly isn't expensive city prices. Not my top eating place but an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is another restaurant that we have been to several times. It is in the city centre so is convenient and has a good range of food on its menu. The food is good value but I do think that £17.50 for the cheapest house white wine is a little expensive.
The only reason I'm rating this restaurant as average instead of very good or excellent is that the food is served on cold plates. If the plates were heated in an oven then the male would remain hot and delicious to the end of the meal. This is not a major problem and we will be back soon to enjoy another great meal. Main courses cost us £8.50 per person which is good value for such a city centre location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John4703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mings also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing