We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for both lunch and dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bibis

Bibis
Ranked #112 of 2,386 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for both lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I have been here several times and have tried both their lunch and early bird dinner menus. We have never been disappointed, the food is always good and service is always really friendly. At lunch I tend to have the Mexican meatball soup (with 3 good-sized meatballs) with a fajita or cajun chicken wrap, while she often has the loaded nachos with veg chilli. Both are really tasty, good portions and plenty filling. My girlfriend also likes the Mexican "Jarritos" juice drinks. In the evening we had the pleasure of the home-mixed raspberry margaritas (far too easy to drink!). It's quite a small place and fills up fast, so booking is recommended for evenings (especially at the weekend), but the size has the advantage of feeling cosy and lively. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowMcGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    142
    37
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visited bibis for the first time over the Christmas holidays having heard some good reports from a friend.....it was great! Went for pre theatre menu and there was lots of choice and good portion size with a very reasonable price tag. Nice touches like the little complimentary margarita shot on arrival and really nice service. It's cosy and casual and 3 course dinner for four with a good deal of drinks and cocktail pitcher only £75, which is great value. Looking forward to our next trip already!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Possil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The food was fantastic and combined with great service meant we had a really good evening. The margarita on arrival was a really nice touch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Landun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Brilliant lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We popped in here for lunch after reading the reviews and left wishing we either lived closer or were staying longer to eat here on an evening.
You could tell the food was both fresh and homemade both in presentation and most importantly taste. We had fajitas and the Mexican stew and both were delicious and a really good portion for a lunch/early bird menu. This coupled with a brill wine list and a desert which there was not a crumb left means that we could not recommend this resturant highly enough.

Remember it's a small independent place so even at lunch I would recommend booking.

PS... If you like Mexican food try lupe pintos deli on great western road for a wide range of fresh/imported authentic mexican and american ingredients

Helpful?
2 Thank walkformilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So glad I read the reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Three of us dined in Bibi's Cantina on 7th January after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and various others..... We were not disappointed!
After a warm welcome we decided to eat from the Early Bird menu. Oh my, the food was soooo good! We were so full after the starter and main that there was no room left for a dessert :-(
The menu offered a great choice and great value for money. We all had drinks (mine was a lovely frozen Margarita) and 2 courses each for less than £40. Everything tasted lovely and fresh and the guacamole and salsa were clearly home-made.
All-in-all, a great meal and can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mo_flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bibis also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bibis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing